<span>Community </span><b>Care</b>

Community Care

We are firmly committed to generating sustainable value to the environment and communities in which we operate. Our approach involves making effective use of our capabilities and resources, as well as donations through the Group’s charity arm, NWS Holdings Charities Foundation (“the Charities Foundation”), to champion meaningful causes. These efforts are supported by our corporate volunteer team who offer practical support to empower people in need through year-round community services.

NWS Holdings Charities Foundation

NWS Holdings Charities Foundation

The Charities Foundation has funded hundreds of projects to the tune of over HK$40 million as at 30 June 2018. To generate long-term benefit from our community investments, we initiate programmes with multiple years of funding and resources support to address social needs in four focus areas, namely community welfare, education, health care and environmental protection.

NWS Volunteer Alliance

NWS Volunteer Alliance

Since its inception in 2001, our volunteer team, the NWS Volunteer Alliance, has been devoted to serving underprivileged groups, including the elderly, single-parent families, at-risk youth, people recovering from mental illness, and those with intellectual disabilities. To date, our volunteers have together contributed more than 177,000 hours of community service by making use of their talents and skills.

Community Welfare

 

At NWS Holdings, we have established a unique tradition to commemorate the anniversary of our listing in Hong Kong through large-scale volunteer services. Corporate volunteers from across the Group are mobilized to provide services to a select group of beneficiary every year at this celebrative occasion, dubbed “NWS Caring Day”. Meanwhile, to serve the community on a regularly basis, our corporate volunteers also actively take part in community welfare projects organized either by the Group or our non-profit organization partners.

Reaching Out to the Underprivileged

2017

Reaching Out to the Underprivileged

The Group's corporate volunteer team, NWS Volunteer Alliance, is a pillar of our corporate citizenship. The team's 1,600-strong active members make use of their skills and interests as varied as haircutting, dancing, clown performance and handicraft to serve needy groups. In FY2017, our corporate volunteers collectively clocked up over 14,000 hours of community service.


In marking the 15th anniversary of the establishment of NWS Volunteer Alliance, a series of celebratory initiatives, including a new brand identity and uniform, additional service tools, a commemorative gathering with nonprofit partners, and promotional videos, have been rolled out. New members of the NWS Volunteer Alliance Standing Committee were inaugurated to instill energy to volunteering development across the Group.

NWS Caring Day

2015

NWS Caring Day

As NWS Holdings entered the 12th anniversary of listing on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange, we initiated a volunteering programme, Home Sweet Home, to mark this corporate milestone and extend our community outreach efforts. This volunteer service programme, co-organized with the Christian Family Service Centre, was designed to nurture and promote family values among grassroot families in Kowloon East. Over 300 participants, comprising Group employees and 50 beneficiary families, participated in the full-day NWS Caring Day 2015 activities, which included games and a guided tour. Thematic activities and events, such as movie appreciation and family portraits photography, continued over the course of the year and benefited over 200 families.

Education

 

The future of Hong Kong rests in the hands of today’s youth. At NWS Holdings, we aim to inspire tomorrow’s leaders through education projects that can help the younger generation develop positive life attitudes, elevate self-confidence, acquire new interest and skills, and cultivate creativity.

Donation to Hong Kong Shue Yan University

2018

Donation to Hong Kong Shue Yan University

The NWS Holdings Charities Foundation donated HK$10 million to Hong Kong Shue Yan University to fund the refurbishment of its iconic Academic Building, improving the learning environment for students and supporting the university's mission to nurture the next generation of leader.
NWS Career Navigator for Youth

Since 2016

NWS Career Navigator for Youth

In late 2016, the Group launched a long-term life-skills and career planning programme, the NWS Career Navigator for Youth, to help the younger generation unlock their potential through a multi-partnership collaboration. This programme was developed with the support of the Association of Heads of Secondary Schools of Tsuen Wan, Kwai Chung and Tsing Yi District, Hong Kong Council for Social Services, Po Leung Kuk, the Hong Kong Young Women’s Christian Association and Hong Kong Playground Association.


Underpinned by this strong community partnership, the programme offers a broad range of career-planning support, including corporate visits, mentoring, career talks, mock interviews, meetings with CEOs, and job shadowing. In its first four years, this career project will benefit more than 400 students and 100 teachers from secondary schools, as well as early school leavers in Tsuen Wan, Kwai Chung and Tsing Yi District.


In February 2017, this project was officially kicked off on NWS Caring Day, an event we hold every year to mark the anniversary of NWS Holdings’ listing on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. The full-day event involved more than 300 students and corporate volunteers in fun-packed job trials at the workplaces of the Group and our NGO partners.

Fairy Mentorship Programme

Since 2008

Fairy Mentorship Programme

Hans Andersen Club (“HAC”) is a long-time partner of NWS Holdings and a beneficiary of the Charities Foundation. This non-profit organization promotes creative storytelling and games, focusing on reading-related activities for young people. In partnership with HAC, we have established the long-term "Fairy Mentorship Programme", an initiative aimed at inspiring children to pursue their passions. This educational programme features storytelling and related activities like drama training, clown performance and balloon twisting for underprivileged children in Wong Tai Sin. The activities were combined with social services that allow the children to practise the skills they have learnt. Our corporate volunteers supported this initiative by acting as mentors to the children and tutors at some of the training classes. Through this project, we are able to promote participants' curiosity, positivity and confidence – fostering the essential qualities of the next generation of leaders.

Art Education for the Community

2014

Art Education for the Community

Art can nurture creativity and bridge communities, showcasing culture and local spirit. Across the Group and particularly through our transport operations, we remain committed to nourishing the development of art locally by providing multiple platforms for the younger generation to exercise and advance their imagination and creativity.


To promote Hong Kong’s unique history and fishery traditions, New World First Ferry Services Limited ("NWFF") hosted a Multivariate Art Workshop in 2014, encouraging outlying-island students to illustrate their impression of “the sea” or Hong Kong’s Victoria Harbour through art. To highlight the outstanding work created through this project, NWFF presented “Ferry Tales”, a giant mural formed with the creative contributions of over 50 students, at the Cheung Chau and Mui Wo piers. This project is part of NWFF’s on-going efforts to promote community art. Over 400 pieces of art that promote local culture and artistic talent have been exhibited in NWFF’s premises.


On the roads, “Arts Bus: On the Move!”, a community art project co-organized by NWFB and Citybus and the Hong Kong Institute of Education (now renamed as “The Education University of Hong Kong”), groomed art and design talent among primary and secondary school students through art education and community outreach. The theme of the project was “Stories of Hong Kong” in 2014/2015. It featured a Bus Body Design Competition with creative contributions from students across Hong Kong, reflecting the territory’s unique history and culture. Twenty winning entries were chosen for display on bus bodies over a six-month period. The Hong Kong Museum of Education also contributed towards the project by converting one of the two thematic “Arts Buses” into a mobile museum. Inside, old teaching aids and textbooks were exhibited to show passengers how education had developed in Hong Kong over time.


We endeavour to build an inclusive society and this work extends to our involvement in art education. We firmly believe that disability need not be a barrier to creative and artistic expression. “Paint Beyond Sight” was a nine-month art programme sponsored by the NWS Holdings Charities Foundation to develop the artistic skills of students from the Yan Chai Hospital Chan Iu Seng Primary School and visually-impaired students from Ebenezer School. With the help of professional tutors and artists, the students were trained to create oil paintings and were given the opportunity to learn from each other. An exhibition of their collaborative art pieces was staged at the Central Pier of NWFF to promote social inclusiveness.

Healthcare

 

As Hong Kong’s ageing population grows, there will be an ever-increasing demand for social and health care services among the elderly. At NWS Holdings, we work with our non-profit partners to provide comprehensive day care and health care services to needy elderly in Hong Kong through our financial resources, volunteers and operational support.

Count On You – Safe Home For Seniors Programme

2018

Count On You – Safe Home For Seniors Programme

An ageing population is putting pressure on Hong Kong’s public healthcare system, and there is a growing need to enhance community care services. In FY2018, at our annual NWS Caring Day, the Group launched the Count on You - Safe Home for Seniors programme. In partnership with the Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui Welfare Council, the programme helps vulnerable, elderly people in Wong Tai Sin district with wheelchair maintenance and small-scale home modifications. The programme enables retired craftsmen and corporate volunteers to help make the homes of elderly residents safer and more comfortable. It also features workshops and activities to promote home safety and inter-generational interaction.
NWS Y-Care Centre (North District) and the Joyful Age Programme

Since 2013

NWS Y-Care Centre (North District) and the Joyful Age Programme

NWS Holdings has partnered with the Hong Kong Young Women’s Christian Association (“YWCA”) since 2013 to provide better elderly care in North District. With a HK$3 million donation from the Charities Foundation, the YWCA established an elderly day care centre in Fanling, named YWCA NWS Y-Care Centre (North District). This centre provides a full range of elderly care services, including day care, rehabilitation, physiotherapy and cognitive training. Our donation was also used to procure a well-equipped service coach in order to reach out to service users residing in distant villages.


Our corporate volunteers support the centre through a three-year Joyful Age volunteering programme, which serves the elderly living in rural villages. Through regular outreach and activities, including a farming day, cognitive training, haircuts and clown performances, members of the NWS Volunteer Alliance keep the elderly engaged with their community. Building on the success and experience gained from this programme, which was concluded in 2016, the Group renewed its support for the centre, and will begin a new programme with YWCA to educate the wider community on elderly care and diseases that affect the elderly, such as dementia.

Environmental Protection

 

Our geological heritage is one of the city's most important environmental resources, and it is also what makes Hong Kong a vibrant tourist destination with a wealth of varied attractions. We continue to instill a public sense of pride and care for the natural environment through our long-running NWS Hong Kong Geo Wonders Hike and Young Ambassadors for Geoconservation programmes.

Protecting Hong Kong's Precious Geological Heritage

Since 2008

Protecting Hong Kong's Precious Geological Heritage

For a decade, the Group has supported geological conservation through its partnership with the Association for Geoconservation, Hong Kong. The NWS Hong Kong Geo Wonders Hike initiative, which includes guided public tours, geopark clean-up activities and the popular NWS Geo Hero Run which first launched in 2015, has involved over 30,000 members of the public since 2008.
The Young Ambassadors for Geoconservation Training Programme

Since 2011

The Young Ambassadors for Geoconservation Training Programme

As part of the NWS Hong Kong Geo Wonders Hike campaign, the Young Ambassadors for Geoconservation Training Programme was introduced in 2011. This programme sets out to educate Hong Kong’s young people on the value of geoconservation through an array of activities including field trips, classroom training and overseas study tours. The programme has logged more than 46,000 cumulative training hours since its inception, with over 1,600 students from 250 schools having been trained.

<span>社區</span><b>關懷</b>

社區關懷

本集團致力為業務所在社區及環境創造可持續價值,並透過善用資源及發揮業務專長,配合集團旗下新創建集團慈善基金(「慈善基金」)的捐款,以支持各項善舉。我們的企業義工隊亦積極參與社區服務,為有需要人士提供實質支援。

新創建集團慈善基金

新創建集團慈善基金

截至2018年6月30日,慈善基金已捐出逾4,000萬港元予數以百計的社區項目。我們亦推出了各項服務計劃,透過多年的資助及資源投放,回應社會所需,確保我們的社區投資能為社會福利、教育、健康醫療及環境保護這四大範疇帶來長遠的裨益。

「新創建愛心聯盟」

「新創建愛心聯盟」

集團的企業義工隊「新創建愛心聯盟」於2001年成立,一直致力服務弱勢社群,包括長者、單親家庭、邊緣青年、精神病康復者及智障人士等。我們的企業義工善用專長及技能,服務社群,目前累積超過177,000小時的服務時數。

社會福利

 

新創建集團每年均會舉辦一項大型的義工服務活動,慶祝其香港上市周年紀念,作為集團獨特的傳統。我們會動員集團上下的企業義工,參與名為「創建社區關懷日」的活動,為每年的特定對象提供服務。此外,我們的企業義工亦積極參與集團或非牟利機構伙伴籌劃的社區關懷項目,定期服務社群。

關愛弱勢社群

2017

關愛弱勢社群

本集團的企業義工隊「新創建愛心聯盟」是我們履行企業公民責任的重要支柱。義工隊有多達1,600名活躍義工,他們積極發揮專長和興趣,如理髮、舞蹈、小丑表演及手工藝等,服務有需要的人士。於2017 財政年度,企業義工累積社區服務時數逾14,000小時。


「新創建愛心聯盟」為慶祝成立15周年,推行了一系列的舉措,包括更新徽號及制服、添置新工具配合社會服務、與非牟利合作夥伴舉行周年紀念聚會,以及發佈全新的宣傳短片。「新創建愛心聯盟」常務委員會新成員並同時就任,為本集團的義工發展注入新動力。

「創建社區關懷日」

2015

「創建社區關懷日」

為慶祝於香港聯交所上市12周年,新創建集團推出了「家 • 加甜」義工計劃,紀念集團邁向新里程之餘,同時透過新計劃加強服務社會。這項計劃由集團和基督教家庭服務中心合辦,目的是向東九龍基層家庭宣揚家庭觀念。本集團員工與50個受惠家庭合共超過300人,參與「創建社區關懷日2015」的全日活動,包括集體遊戲及導賞遊。該計劃的全年活動包括電影欣賞會及家庭照攝影等,總共惠及逾200個家庭。

教育

 

年輕一代主導香港的未來發展,新創建集團積極推展教育項目,啟發本港的未來領袖,協助新生代建立積極的人生觀、自信心,並且培養新興趣、技能和創意。

捐款予香港樹仁大學

2018

捐款予香港樹仁大學

新創建集團慈善基金向香港樹仁大學捐款1,000萬港元,用於翻新該校標誌性的教學大樓及提升學習環境,以支持該大學培育英才的使命。
創建生涯路

始於2016

創建生涯路

於2016年底,本集團推出一項以生涯規劃為主題的長期項目「創建生涯路」,透過多方合作幫助年輕一代發揮潛能。該計劃獲荃灣、葵涌及青衣區中學校長會、香港社會服務聯會、保良局、女青年會及香港遊樂場協會支持開展。


「創建生涯路」計劃得到廣大社區夥伴的支持,提供多元化的生涯規劃支援,包括企業參觀、師友輔導、職場人語分享會、模擬面試、行政總裁見面會及工作影子體驗。計劃推出首四年內預期可惠及荃灣、葵涌及青衣區內逾400名中學生、100名中學教師以及離校生。


2017年2月,計劃的啟動禮於新創建集團慶祝上市周年的年度活動「創建社區關懷日」上舉行。逾300名學生及企業義工出席當天活動,並走訪多個本集團及非牟利合作夥伴的工作場所,參與饒富趣味的模擬工作體驗。

「精靈師徒」計劃

始於2008

「精靈師徒」計劃

安徒生會是新創建集團的長期合作夥伴及慈善基金的受惠機構。該非牟利機構以推廣創意故事演繹和遊戲為宗旨,並集中為年輕一代提供閱讀相關的活動。集團與安徒生會合辦名為「精靈師徒」的長期計劃,鼓勵小朋友追尋夢想。此項教育計劃以黃大仙區的基層兒童為對象,內容包括講故事和戲劇訓練班、小丑表演及扭氣球等相關活動。活動配合不同社會服務,讓參加的小朋友學以致用。集團企業義工在計劃中,擔任「師傅」及部分培訓班導師。透過計劃,我們得以提高參加者的好奇心、正面思維及自信心,這些正是未來社會領袖須具備的特質。

社區藝術教育

2014

社區藝術教育

藝術能孕育創意,也是不同社群的溝通橋樑,更可展現本土文化及精神。本集團及旗下的交通業務一直支持及推動本地藝術發展,讓年輕一代透過多元平台發揮想像力及創意。


為展現本港獨特的歷史及漁村傳統,新世界第一渡輪服務有限公司(「新渡輪」)於2014年舉辦「多元藝術工作坊」,鼓勵離島學生創作以海洋或維多利亞港為主題的畫作,並在長洲及梅窩渡輪碼頭展示由50多位學生合力完成的巨型壁畫「『渡』賞新世界」,表揚出色的學生作品。新渡輪一直推廣本地的社區藝術,除了上述計劃,曾於轄下設施展出逾400件藝術作品。


與此同時,由新巴及城巴及香港教育學院(現名為「香港教育大學」)合辦的社區藝術計劃「藝術巴士:走入社群!」深入本港各區,透過藝術教學培育中小學生的藝術及設計才華。在2014/2015,活動以「大城市 • 小故事」為主題,舉辦巴士車身設計比賽,吸引全港各區學生踴躍參加,並透過藝術細說香港獨特的歷史及文化,其中20份得獎作品更在巴士車身展示六個月。香港教育博物館亦參與是項計劃,將其中一輛藝術巴士變成「流動博物館」,展出本港昔日的教材和教科書,向乘客介紹香港的教育發展歷程。


我們致力締造和諧共融的社會,在舉辦藝術教育活動時也秉持同一理念。我們深信創意和藝術無分界限,並鼓勵殘障人士參與藝術創作。新創建集團慈善基金撥款贊助為期九個月的「畫出光明」計劃,協助培養仁濟醫院陳耀星小學學生及心光學校視障學生的藝術觸覺,讓他們在專業導師及藝術家的指導下學習油畫,並且互相交流,而學生合力完成的藝術作品更於新渡輪中環碼頭展出,推廣社會共融的理念。

健康醫療

 

隨著香港人口逐漸老化,長者今後對社會服務及護老設施的需求將愈加殷切。新創建集團與非牟利合機構伙伴合作,透過財政資源、義工及營運支援等,為長者提供全面的日間照顧和護理服務。

「傳」靠你—居家長者服務計劃

2018

「傳」靠你—居家長者服務計劃

人口老化為香港公共醫療系統帶來壓力,令社區照顧服務的需求日趨殷切。於2018財政年度,本集團於年度「創建社區關懷日」推出「『傳』靠你—居家長者服務計劃」。該計劃與香港聖公會福利協會合作,為黃大仙區的弱勢長者維修輪椅及進行小型家居改裝工程,並讓已退休的工匠及企業義工通力合作,為長者提供更安全舒適的家居。計劃亦包括推廣家居安全及跨代交流的工作坊及活動。
「新創建青健坊」及「創建耆樂」義工計劃

始於2013

「新創建青健坊」及「創建耆樂」義工計劃

自2013年以來,新創建集團與香港基督教女青年會(「女青年會」)攜手為北區長者提供更完善的照顧服務。集團旗下慈善基金撥出300萬港元,資助女青年會於粉嶺設立日間長者護理中心,名為「香港基督教女青年會新創建青健坊(北區)」(「新創建青健坊」)。中心的長者護理服務完備,包括日間照顧、復康治療、物理治療及認知能力訓練等。捐款亦用於購置一輛設備齊全的服務專車,以接載偏遠鄉郊的服務使用者。


集團義工參與為期三年的「創建耆樂」義工計劃,透過服務鄉郊長者,支持中心的工作。「新創建愛心聯盟」的成員透過定期的外展式探訪及形形色色的活動,包括農耕體驗、認知訓練、剪髮及小丑表演等,讓長者加強接觸社區,義工同時能善用所長。「創建耆樂」義工計劃於2016年圓滿結束,集團將借鑒當中的成功經驗,繼續支持中心的工作,並會夥拍女青年會推出全新計劃,向社會大眾介紹有關長者護理及包括認知障礙症在內的長者疾病資訊。

環境保護

 

地質遺址是香港其中一樣最重要的環境資源,亦使香港成為具備不同特色的旅遊勝地。我們持續透過行之多年的「新創建香港地貌行」及「青年地質保育大使」培訓計劃,加強公眾對本港自然環境的自豪感及關顧。

保護本港珍貴地質遺蹟

始於2008

保護本港珍貴地質遺蹟

過去十年來,集團與香港地貌岩石保育協會合作推動地質保育。自2008年起舉辦「新創建香港地貌行」活動,當中包括公眾導賞團、地質公園清潔活動、以及於2015年首辦的「新創建勇跑地貌王」跑步賽事,至今已吸引超過30,000名公眾人士參與。
「青年地質保育大使」培訓計劃

始於2011年

「青年地質保育大使」培訓計劃

新創建香港地貌行於2011年推出「青年地質保育大使」培訓計劃,透過一系列活動,包括戶外考察、課堂培訓及海外交流團,向新生代灌輸地質保育意識。計劃推出至此,已為250間中學逾1,600名學生提供培訓,學員累積超過46,000小時培訓時數。