NWS NWS


Our Approach


Our Sustainability Policy applies to NWS Holdings Limited and its subsidiaries, collectively referred to as "the Group". Given our diverse business portfolio, business development in new industries and growing geographical footprint, it is important that the Group has a clear and comprehensive statement of its commitments to guide sustainability practices across its operations. Each subsidiary or business unit should use this policy as guidance in developing its own approach and practices in ways that are most appropriate to their industry and location. The Group's Sustainability Committee oversees the implementation and progress of sustainability practices, and reviews this Policy from time to time.

Built upon the Group's vision, mission and core values and developed with reference to the ten principles of United Nations Global Compact, this Policy presents our commitments in the four areas below:

    • We create long-term value for our shareholders through a focused strategy and by developing synergy between business units.
    • We observe high standards of corporate governance and ensure the effectiveness of our risk management and internal control system.
    • We maintain the highest standards of ethics and integrity, and comply with all laws and regulations in our business transactions and operations.
    • We deliver services and products that are safe and reliable, and do so in an environmentally responsible manner. We also strive to attain total customer satisfaction and to build our brand as a world-class service provider.
    • We influence businesses in our supply chain to share our approach to corporate sustainability and encourage our suppliers, business partners and customers to adhere to our principles on sustainable development.
    • We provide a safe and healthy working environment for our employees and are committed to preventing accidents, injuries and illness related to work.
    • We promote equal opportunities and ensure that all employees are treated with dignity and respect regardless of age, gender, ethnicity and other forms of diversity.
    • We provide competitive, fair and equitable remuneration, and invest in training and professional development to help our employees realize their full potential.
    • We promote a healthy work-life balance and create an inclusive, family-friendly workplace to improve employee satisfaction and productivity.
    • We strive to create a positive impact in the communities where we operate, by leveraging our strengths and resources, and through the Group's charity arm, NWS Holdings Charities Foundation.
    • We provide strategic, relevant and long-term support in the focused areas in line with those of NWS Holdings Charities Foundation.
    • We form partnerships with like-minded civil society organizations that can provide the necessary expertise to enhance the impact of our community investment initiatives.
    • We encourage and empower our employees to contribute to society by volunteering, and seek to raise their awareness of social and environmental issues.
    • We comply with all relevant environmental laws and regulations, and strive to exceed this basic requirement wherever possible.
    • We take every reasonable and practical measure to conserve resources and minimize waste in our operations.
    • We strive to contribute to the reduction of our greenhouse gas emissions by investing in clean and energy-efficient technologies and by reducing our energy consumption.
    • We dedicate resources to increasing awareness, motivation and participation in environmentally friendly initiatives among our staff as well as stakeholders in our supply chain.


Our Sustainability Policy is underpinned by a multi-faceted approach to sustainability combining management framework and policies, operational optimization and capacity building. We are also committed to engaging our stakeholders, benchmarking our performance, and reporting on our progress in a transparent and highly accountable way.

  • The board of directors of NWS Holdings (the "Board"), as the highest governance body of the Group, takes ultimate responsibility for business sustainability and plays a pivotal role in driving long-term growth.

    The Sustainability Committee, chaired by our Chief Executive Officer, sets the overarching Group's sustainability strategy, framework and policies, and tracks progress on staff engagement, community investment, volunteering and environmental protection, with the support of the Environmental Management Committee, Sports and Recreation Committee, the NWS Holdings Charities Foundation and NWS Volunteer Alliance.

    The Group's policies and guidelines reflect our vision, mission and core values, which are fundamental to our business success. These include "Board Diversity Policy", "Human Rights Policy", "Corporate Policy on Staff Responsibility and Code of Conduct", "IT Policy and Procedure", "Guidelines on Risk Management", "Guidelines on Internal Control System", "Disclosure Policy for Inside Information", "Whistleblowing Policy", and "Supplier Code of Conduct" from NWD.

    Find out more

  • We work with our employees, business partners and customers to increase efficiency, reduce waste and minimize our impact on the environment. With innovation as one of our core values, we strive to invent new ways and processes that benefit our business operation, community and environment. Further details of the innovations and measures that the Group and our member companies undertaken to optimize operations can be found in the case studies in this website.

  • As we integrate sustainability into our decision making process, it is vital that all staff understand the links between emerging trends, daily operations and future business prospects. One of the ways we promote this is through the NWS Sustainability Seminar, an annual event that informs and educates managerial staff from across the Group on topical sustainability issues. Building on this broad, Group-wide understanding of sustainability, we also have Green Managers who receive targeted training on integrating sustainable practices into day-to-day operations.

  • Dialogue with our stakeholders is essential to building valuable relationships that have a direct impact on our business success. As well as working closely with our employees, we regularly seek the views of external stakeholders, including government officials, investors, customers, suppliers, subcontractors, non-profit organizations and the media. We use forums, meetings, surveys, focus groups, online platforms, and new media to invite feedback, to help us understand stakeholders' concerns and expectations, and ensure these views are passed on to the right functionaries within the Group who are best placed to act on them.

    Benchmarking and reporting enables us to measure the Group's performance against our objectives on sustainability, and against international and industry standards. It also enables us to identify the Group's strengths and weaknesses and learn from best practices. We are open to third-party assessment of our performance, such as the Hang Seng Corporate Sustainability Benchmark Index, in which we have been a constituent stock since 2011, with overall performance score improving from A to AA over time.

    To increase our transparency and accountability, the Group has published a standalone sustainability report annually since 2014. The report is prepared in accordance with the Global Reporting Initiative Standards: Core options, and satisfies the requirement of the Environmental, Social and Governance Reporting Guide issued by the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. Read our latest report.

    We welcome your feedback and suggestions as we continue to improve our sustainability performance.


Tackling global challenges – including climate change, diminishing natural resources and socio-economic issues linked to digital technologies – requires the concerted effort of governments, corporates and communities. As a leading player in infrastructure and services, we are committed to playing our part. Since early 2018, we have begun mapping our key initiatives to the United Nations Sustainability Development Goals ("UN SDGs"), which guides our corporate citizenship and shapes our investment strategies and risk management. In the same spirit, we are beefing up our effort to support Hong Kong's transition towards a low-carbon, innovative economy. These include establishing environmental targets on energy consumption, waste and water management across the Group, and working with our partners along our supply chain to promote strong ethical, social and environmental performance.

NWS NWS


可持续发展模式


我们的可持续发展政策适用于新创建集团有限公司及其附属公司(统称「本集团」)。由于本集团业务多元化,业务发展覆盖新增行业及延伸经营地域,因此本集团必须清晰全面阐述其可持续发展理念,务求为旗下业务的实践推行提供明确的指引。各附属公司或业务部门应参照本政策,并因应其业务所属行业及所有地的特性,制定适切的管理方针及实务守则。本集团的可持续发展委员会负责监督集团可持续发展实务措施的落实状况及进度,并会定期审视本政策内容。

本政策建基于集团愿景、使命及核心价值,并参照联合国全球契约精神的10大原则而编撰,阐述我们于以下四大范畴的承担:

    • 通过聚焦发展策略,并发挥成员公司之间的协同效应,为股东创造长远价值。
    • 遵守严格的企业管治标准,并确保风险管理及内部监控系统行之有效。
    • 恪守严格的道德及诚信标准,并于业务交易及营运过程中遵守法规。
    • 提供安全,可靠及合乎环保原则的服务及产品,致力提升客户整体满意度,建立世界级服务品牌。
    • 推动供应链的业务伙伴配合本集团的企业可持续发展方针,鼓励供应商、业务伙伴和客户与我们一同遵守可持续发展原则。
    • 为员工提供安全健康的工作环境,竭力防止与职业相关的意外、工伤及疾病。
    • 提倡平等机会,确保全体员工一律获得应有的尊重,不会因年龄、性别、种族或其他因素而有异。
    • 给予员工具竞争力和公平公正的待遇,并于培训及事业发展方面投入资源,协理员工发挥潜能。
    • 促进工作与生活平衡,并建立包容、家庭友善的工作环境,提高员工的满足感和生产力。
    • 运用本集团的优势及资源,并透过本集团旗下的新创建集团慈善基金,为业务所在的社区作出贡献。
    • 根据新创建集团慈善基金关注的重点范畴,提供具策略性,适切及长远的社区支持。
    • 与理念一致的民间社会组织建立伙伴合作关系,借用其相关的专业知识加强本集团在社区投资的影响力。
    • 鼓励及支持员工参与义工服务,回馈社会,并提高员工对社会及环保议题的关注。
    • 遵守一切环保法例及规定,并致力提升表现,超越法规的要求。
    • 在营运过程中采取一切合理可行的措施,以节省资源及减少废物。
    • 透过投资洁净能源及具能源效益的技术,并推行节能措施,减少温室气体排放。
    • 投放资源提高员工及供应链持份者的环保意识、主动性及参与度。


为配合可持续发展政策的落实,本集团多管齐下,推行结合管理框架及政策、优化业务营运及内部培训的相关方针。我们也致力通过联系持份者、基准评估,以及进度汇报,提高企业透明度及问责精神。

  • 新创建集团董事会(「董事会」)是本集团的最高管治架构,肩负推动业务可持续发展及长远增长的重任。

    可持续发展委员会由本集团行政总裁担任主席,专责确立集团的可持续发展策略、框架及政策,并且透过环保管理委员会、康乐委员会、新创建集团慈善基金、新创建爱心联盟以审视本集团在员工参与、社区投资、义工活动及环境保护方面的工作进展。

    本集团的政策及指引体现我们的理念、使命及核心价值,是我们赖以成功发展的基石。这些政策及指引包括《董事会成员多元化政策》、《人权政策》、《员工责任企业政策及操守准则》、《资讯科技政策和程序》、《风险管理指引》、《内部监控系统指引》、《内幕消息披露政策》、《举报政策》,以及由母公司新世界发展制订的《供货商守则》等。

    了解更多

  • 本集团与员工、业务伙伴及客户携手合作,设法提高营运效益、减少废物,以降低对环境造成的影响。由于我们的核心价值之一是创新求进,我们致力创造新方法和新流程以改善业务营运,贡献社会及环境。如欲了解更多有关集团及成员公司优化业务营运的创新发明及措施,可参考此网站的案例。

  • 企业能够在决策过程中落实可持续发展理念,有赖全体员工对社会新兴趋势、日常营运与业务前景互为影响的认识及了解。本集团每年一度的「新创建可持续发展研讨会」 是其中一项相应举措,让本集团内的管理级人员了解可持续发展的最新知识及议题。除了涉及整体员工的培训外,本集团也为属下专责环保的人员提供专属培训,让他们把可持续发展实务融入日常运作之中。

  • 此外,我们通过基准评估及工作汇报,检视本集团的可持续发展进度,并按国际及业务标准,衡量工作表现,审视本集团的强弱之处,也藉此借鉴最佳实务案例汲取经验。本集团接受独立的表现评估,例如「恒生可持续发展企业基准指数」。我们自2011年起已入选为该指数的成份股,整体评级由过去的A级递升至AA级。

    为提高透明度和问责性,本集团自2014年起每年发布一份独立成刊的可持续发展报告。本报告乃根据全球报告倡议组织标准的核心选项编制,并符合香港联合交易所有限公司的《环境、社会及管治报告指引》中所列的要求。参阅我们的最新报告

    我们欢迎阁下提供意见及建议,以使我们持续改进可持续发展方面的表现。


全球正面临不同挑战,包括气候变化、天然资源减少、数码科技发展所带来的社会经济变更等;要应对这些挑战,便需要政府、企业和社区的共同努力。作为一间领先的基建和服务业企业,我们自当竭尽所能为此作出承担。自2018年年初开始,我们将集团的主要措施与联合国可持续发展目标(「UN SDGs」)对照,以此引领我们作为良好企业公民的工作,并调节投资策略和风险管理。本着同样的精神,我们努力帮助香港加快成为低碳创新型经济体,包括就能源用量、集团的废物及水管理制定环保目标,以及与供货商在供应链层面发挥正面影响,以提升在道德、社会及环保方面的表现。