<span>Human </span><b>Capital</b>

Human Capital

Maintaining the Group's success requires a proactive and comprehensive approach to managing our human capital, such that we can continue to grow and excel. We strive to recruit and retain the best talent. Across our operations we invest in our staff, encourage work-life balance and promote team spirit in order to reinforce our position as an employer of choice. The Group has a "Human Rights Policy" to reaffirm its commitment to respecting and protecting the fundamental rights of our employees. The policy was developed in accordance with the principles of the United Nations Global Compact, and stipulates the Group's mechanism through which staff can report concerns.

Equality and Diversity

 

Continuous efforts are made to promote workplace diversity. Our policies on recruitment, promotion, dismissal and anti-discrimination as stated in our internal "Code of Conduct" ensure fair and equitable work environment for all, regardless of age, gender, ethnicity and other aspects of diversity. Under the Group's grievance and whistleblowing procedures, allegations of discrimination are investigated confidentially and thoroughly, and followed up with appropriate management action.

Celebrating Diversity

2017

Celebrating Diversity

Our commitment to workplace diversity and equal employment opportunity is reflected in our efforts to recruit and help people whose talents may have been overlooked.


Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (Management) Limited ("HML") has been working closely with St. James’ Settlement to recruit people with intellectual disabilities. Lau Yee Wai, nicknamed “Wai Wai”, was one of those hired in 2014 to join the Stewarding Team of the Housekeeping Department. Wai Wai is responsible for cleaning the staff canteen. Tailored training courses were provided for her when she first started, and she can now handle a range of duties with minimal supervision. The job has not only enabled Wai Wai to master new skills and develop her confidence, but also boosted her ability to look after herself.


In FY2017, our Corporate Office also initiated a jobshadowing scheme to support young people with disability. In collaboration with the Ebenezer School & Home for the Visually Impaired and CareER, five young people were recruited to shadow staff in various departments. Each was assigned a manager-grade mentor who guided them and shared useful tips on navigating the business world.

Training and Education

 

We encourage staff members to proactively identify their training needs and seek development opportunities to fulfil their personal and career aspirations. As an employer believing in life-long learning, we provide educational subsidies and examination leave to motivate our employees to pursue further study. In addition to on-the-job training and guidance from mentors, employees are provided with the opportunity to attend external and in-house training programmes.

The Path to Professional Excellence

2017

The Path to Professional Excellence

Recognition is instrumental in motivating employees to strive to achieve more. The Group has established an Outstanding Employee Awards scheme to honour top-performing employees. In FY2017, awards were presented to 12 individuals from the managerial, general and operational staff categories as well as four employee teams.


Jin Mei, a toll collector of Hangzhou Guoyi, was the winner of the operational staff category in FY2017. Located at the heart of China’s eastern economic hub, Hangzhou Ring Road serves over 78,000 vehicles on a daily basis. Jin Mei is awarded for her exemplary customer service skills. She greets every driver passing through her toll booth with courtesy and a smile. These golden rules of customer-service etiquette exemplify the customer-centric spirit we aim to uphold. What’s more, she is active in passing along her knowledge and skills to fellow frontline staff through internal sharing opportunities and training sessions.


We work to make Hangzhou Ring Road a stellar example of what a modern toll road can be, with customer satisfaction as a top priority, alongside road safety and environmental protection. Resources have been allocated to enhance facilities and employee training, aiming to take service quality to even greater heights.

Marine Officer Trainee Programme

2015

Marine Officer Trainee Programme

The majority of the operational staff at New World First Ferry Services Limited ("NWFF") is 50 years of age or older. Looking ahead, it will be crucial to attract and train new recruits to take over the jobs vacated by retiring senior staff. To attract young people to the industry and build a pipeline for succession, NWFF established the First Ferry Marine Officer Trainee Programme in 2015. The six-year development programme provides young recruits with maritime knowledge, management skills and professional seafaring know-how through classroom learning and on-the-job practical experience. After the training programme, trainees can take examinations to gain professional qualification as Grade 1 coxswains or can be promoted to become operation supervisors.

HML Reaches Out to Talent

2015

HML Reaches Out to Talent

Being at the forefront of the booming convention and exhibition industry, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (Management) Limited ("HML") is faced with the challenge of finding the right talent to maintain the highest service standards for customers and event organizers. Most notably, positions in food and beverage, engineering, and facilities management are increasingly competitive to recruit for. In response, HML continues to broaden its outreach to potential candidates.


Each year, HML partners with different educational institutions to nurture fresh talent by providing internship opportunities and on-the-job training. To nurture the skills required by the food and beverage division, for example, a Hospitality Experience Programme has been developed in partnership with the Hong Kong College of Technology. Students specializing in catering and hospitality are provided with both hands-on experience and performance-based job placement opportunity.


With the aim of reaching out to a larger pool of potential candidates, HML staged a Recruitment Day in 2015. Applicants were introduced to various job openings and provided with on-site interviews with departmental managers and supervisors. Over 180 applicants applied for more than 50 vacancies, and half of these posts were filled within a day.

Acquiring and Growing Talent

2014

Acquiring and Growing Talent

One of the biggest challenges for businesses in Hong Kong is a decline in labour supply. In particular, the shortage of young technical and operational staff poses a significant risk to our construction business. About 35% of our construction workforce is over 50 years old. This means that over the next 15 years, as these employees reach retirement age, we will face an outflow of technical expertise that directly affects our ability to be in business. It is imperative that we put in place effective measures to attract, train and retain new employees.


The Group’s subsidiary, Hip Hing, addresses the manpower issue by establishing itself as a preferred employer. It regularly reviews and realigns its people development programmes, reflecting its commitment to providing rewarding career and personal development opportunities to all levels of staff.


To boost the talent pool, the comprehensive people development programme starts with scholarships and sponsorships targeting high-performing students at universities and further education institutes. In addition to financial support, students are offered internships and job attachments to broaden their experience and apply academic knowledge in a practical environment under the guidance of an experienced supervisor. Interns stay connected with Hip Hing during their final year of study through a Fellowship Programme, which serves as a springboard for a career at Hip Hing. Scholarship recipients and outstanding interns from the Construction Industry Council’s Technician Diploma Programme are offered an Apprentice Foreman post and admitted to the Apprentice Foreman Training Programme upon graduation.


High-potential university graduates are recruited to Hip Hing through a targeted management trainee programme, the Construction Officer Development Programme, which aims to grow young graduates into competent project management executives. Apart from furthering their professional qualifications, job knowledge and technical abilities through job rotation, trainees are guided in developing their personal effectiveness and managerial competences.


Project managers and site agents are key staff within a construction company and vital to the successful delivery of a project. To ensure a stable pipeline of staff qualified for these crucial positions, Hip Hing designed two talent development programmes, namely Project Manager Development Programme (“PMDP”) and Site Agent Development Programme (“SADP”), that provide staff with opportunities to grow and unleash their potential. The PMDP focuses on three areas of professional qualifications, job knowledge and technical abilities, and managerial competences, and each trainee is assigned a coach who tracks their learning and development. In the SADP, trainees are assigned a mentor who plans and oversees their on-the-job training, which embraces technical, supervisory and management disciplines.

Work-life Balance

 

Work-life balance is a value broadly promoted across our operations through caring policies and measures, as well as a wide range of leisure and sports activities. These initiatives consider the well-being of not just our employees but also their families. We also actively promote employee health and wellness by providing staff members with free influenza vaccinations, medical check-ups and fresh fruits.

NWS Adventure Day

2015

NWS Adventure Day

At NWS Holdings, we organize a series of family excursions and activities, which are open to employees across the Group. The bi-annual NWS Adventure Day is one way in which we reward our employees with a fun-filled day with their families and co-workers. The NWS Adventure Day, held in September 2015, attracted a record-breaking turnout of over 8,000 employees and their family members for an outing to Hong Kong Disneyland. Participants enjoyed a dazzling opening ceremony, the Festival of the Lion King show, lucky draws, and an exclusive preview of the popular Disney Haunted Halloween attraction. Participants also enjoyed special offers on meals and shopping.

Occupational Health and Safety

 

Safety committees, policies, protocols are fully integrated into our businesses, particularly in operations exposed to greater occupational health and safety risks. Joint management-worker taskforces are set up at various subsidiaries to address the particular nature of work at each company and to incorporate frontline views in the formation of safety measures.

Hip Hing Construction Group Puts Safety First

2015

Hip Hing Construction Group Puts Safety First

Hip Hing attaches paramount importance to safety and works relentlessly to prevent and manage construction site risks, aiming to deliver continuous improvement in industrial safety and, ultimately, achieve a zero injury rate. Hip Hing is working towards this goal with a two pronged approach comprising safety promotion and the use of new technology.


In 2015, Hip Hing launched a large-scale internal safety awareness programme, which included a safety forum, internal safety survey, educational videos, safety tips and a safe construction site recognition scheme. To demonstrate management commitment to a safe working environment, Hip Hing’s senior management has increased the frequency of their visits to construction sites, where they lead morning exercise, distribute sunblock products and present awards to the most safety-minded workers.


Project teams at Hip Hing are making increasing use of technology to monitor and reduce safety risks. At the Po Heung Street Public Rental Housing Project, for example, specialists were deployed to construct 3D renderings from 2D drawings that can be used to pinpoint safety risks to frontline workers. Hong Kong Polytechnic University was also engaged to develop the Proactive Construction Management System (PCMS), which involves the installation of GPS locators on the safety helmets of workers. When a worker crosses into a danger zone or is in the vicinity of in-use machinery, the PCMS generates a warning signal to alert them to imminent risk. The system also provides data about the frequency of workers entering danger zones to help project teams review and plan further safety measures.


These initiatives, together with the concerted efforts of all Hip Hing staff, had resulted in an improved injury rate of 9.9/1,000 workers in the financial year ended 30 June 2015, compared to 11.3/1,000 in the previous financial year. Hip Hing’s site injury rate is well below the construction industry average of 40/1,000 workers.

<span>人力</span><b>资本</b>

人力资本

为保持本集团的竞争优势,我们采取积极而全面的方法来管理人力资本,以汇聚卓越人才,取得长足的发展。 集团致力投入资源培育员工及提升内部的团队精神,并且让员工平衡工作与生活,藉此巩固我们作为理想雇主的地位。 集团的《人权政策》重申其尊重及保护员工基本权利的承诺,该文件的条文遵照联合国全球契约精神而编撰,当中更阐明让员工反映疑虑的机制。

平等及多元

 

新创建集团持续缔造多元共融的工作间。 本集团内部《纪律守则》列明招聘、晋升、解雇及反歧视政策,确保工作环境公平公正,员工待遇不会因年龄、性别及种族等因素而异。 根据本集团的申诉及举报程序,我们会以保密方式彻底调查有关歧视的指控,并会采取适当的管理措施予以跟进。

促進平等多元

2017

促进平等多元

新创建集团致力缔造多元工作间,提供平等就业机会,协助一些往往被忽略的人才一展所长。


香港会议展览中心(管理)有限公司( 「会展管理公司」) 一直与圣雅各福群会紧密合作聘用复康人士,其中一位是2014年加入管家部的刘依维(同事昵称她为「维维」)。维维日常负责清洁员工饭堂,入职时接受适切的培训,现在已能够独立履行不同职务。她不但透过这份工作掌握新技能,增强自信,还提升了自理能力。


於2017财政年度,新创建集团总办事处亦举办了「影子工作实习计划」,支援残疾青年。我们与心光盲人院暨学校以及CareER合作,招募了五名青年到不同部门作观摩学习。每位参加者获编配一名经理级的师友协助指导他们的工作,并分享在商业环境工作的心得。

培训与教育

 

我们鼓励员工主动发掘自身的培训需要,争取发展机会,以实现个人抱负及事业理想。 作为推崇终身学习的雇主,我们为员工提供进修津贴及考试假期,推动他们自我增值。 除了在职培训及师友指导外,员工亦可参加外间或内部的培训课程。

集團學徒計劃 - 會展管理公司工程實習生

2018

集团学徒计划 - 会展管理公司工程实习生

方志荣是一名尽忠职守的年轻工程系毕业生,他以工程实习生的身分加入会展管理公司的设施规划及营运团队。完成在职培训后,他现支持团队监察会展中心的营运和维修工作,确保在会展中心举行的活动能够顺利进行。
集團學徒計劃 - 協興管工學徒

2018

集团学徒计划 - 协兴管工学徒

江咏仪是一位有抱负的年轻建筑人才。她完成建造业议会举办的屋宇建造监工课程后,便加入协兴任职管工学徒。协兴的学徒在工作中可学习到不同建筑方法,并可参与一系列的内部培训及获资助修读工作相关的外部课程。
集團學徒計劃 - 新渡輪見習海事主任

2018

集团学徒计划 - 新渡轮见习海事主任

何子豪因有志从事航海事业而加入新渡轮成为见习海事主任。为期六年的见习计划是新渡轮人才发展规划的重要部分,为年轻的航海人员提供清晰的事业发展路径,并帮助他们取得成为船长或海事主任所需的执照。
開創青雲路

2017

开创青云路

肯定员工的成就有助推动他们尽展所长,为此,我们设有「杰出员工大奖」,以表扬优秀员工。2017 财政年度共有12名经理级、文职和前线员工,以及四组员工队伍获奖。


杭州国益收费员金美于2017财政年度获优秀前线员工奖。杭州绕城公路位于华东经济中心,每日交通流量超过78,000 架次,金美以优秀的客户服务质量勇夺奖项。她每天向经过收费亭的司机有礼地问好,笑容可掬,体现了杭州国益以顾客为先的精神。此外,她亦积极透过内部分享及培训课程向同事传授知识与技巧。


我们致力令杭州绕城公路成为现代化收费公路的典范,除了道路安全和环保以外,十分重视客户满意度,并拨出资源进行设施提升及员工培训,务求提升服务水平。

見習海事主任計劃

2015

见习海事主任计划

新世界第一渡轮服务有限公司(「新渡轮」) 大部分 前线员工年龄高于50岁。 展望未来,我们必须吸纳及培训新人,接替即将退休的资深员工。 新渡轮于2015年推出「见习海事主任计划」,吸纳新人入行,为人手交替作好准备。 培训计划为期六年,透过课堂与在职实践,向年轻学员教授海事知识、管理技巧及专业航海技术。 学员完成培训计划后,可报考专业试以获取一级船长资格或担任营运主管。

會展管理公司廣納人才

2015

会展管理公司广纳人才

会议展览行业发展蓬勃,会展管理公司作为业界翘楚,一直为客户及活动主办商提供卓越服务,但在物色人才方面却面临不少挑战,尤以餐饮、工程及设施管理相关职位的人才招聘竞争最为激烈。为此,会展管理公司不断开拓吸纳人才的渠道。


会展管理公司每年与各大教育机构合作,提供实习机会及在职培训,藉此培训新人,例如与香港专业进修学校合办款待业工作体验计划,为餐饮行业培育具备相关技能的人才。修读餐饮及款待课程的学生不但可以从中取得实践经验,表现优秀的学员更可获得就业机会。


为广纳人才,会展管理公司于2015年举办了招聘日,求职者可即场申请不同类型的职位,参与部门经理及主管主持的面试。当日有逾180名求职者应征超过50个空缺职位,当中有一半空缺已于同日完成招聘。

招募和栽培人才

2014

招募和栽培人才

人才供不应求是香港各界要面对的最大挑战之一,其中年轻技工和前线员工尤其短缺,对本集团的建筑业务构成重大风险。现时本集团35%的建筑员工年逾50,意味着在未来15年他们陆续达退休年龄,我们将面对技术专才流失,直接影响业务的营运能力。因此,我们必须采取有效措施,以吸引、培训和挽留新员工。


本集团的附属公司协兴建筑有限公司(「协兴」)致力成为理想雇主,以改善人力资源问题。协兴定期检讨和修订人才发展计划,务求为所有职级员工提供具前景的职业及个人发展机会。


协兴推行全面的人才发展计划,汇聚更多杰出人才。首先是向表现优异的大学和专上学院学生提供奖学金及助学金。除财政资助,学生亦获得工作实习机会,累积工作经验,并在资深导师指导下把学术知识应用到工作上。完成实习后,应届毕业生可透过「实习生伙伴计划」与协兴保持连系,作为加入协兴开展事业的跳板。奖学金得主和修读香港建造业议会技术员文凭课程的杰出见习生,亦会获邀加入协兴成为学徒,并在毕业后参加「学徒训练计划」。


协兴透过开设「建筑主任培训计划」,招募潜质优厚的大学毕业生。此见习培训计划旨在栽培年轻毕业生成为优秀的工程项目管理人员。见习生可透过轮换工作岗位,提升专业资格、工作知识和专门技能,同时在适当指导下提升个人能力和管理才能。


在建筑公司里,工程项目经理和工地总管是工程项目得以顺利完成的关键。协兴为确保这些重要岗位的人才稳定性及质素,分别推行「工程项目经理培训计划」和「工地总管培训计划」,让员工迈步成长和展现潜能。 「工程项目经理培训计划」的三大重点分别为专业资格、工作知识和专门技能,以及管理才能,每位学员获一名导师跟进学习及训练进度。 「工地总管培训计划」的学员则由一名导师负责规划和监督其在职培训,内容包括技术、监管和管理能力。

工作生活平衡

 

本集团透过关怀政策和措施,以及各式各样的康体活动,在各大业务上广泛提倡工作与生活平衡的理念。我们关顾员工以至其家人的福祉,并积极促进员工的身心健康,向员工提供免费流感疫苗注射、身体检查,以至新鲜水果。

「新創建歷險之旅」

2015

「新创建历险之旅」

新创建集团举办各类家庭旅行及活动,供集团上下员工参与, 两年一度的 「新创建历险之旅」便是其中一例,回馈员工之余,也可以让他们与家人及同事共度欢乐时光。 我们于2015年9月举办「新创建历险之旅」,吸引了超过8,000名员工与家属一起畅游香港迪士尼乐园,参加人数刷新纪录。 他们参与了别具心思的开幕仪式、歌舞剧「狮子王庆典」、幸运抽奖,并且率先体验深受欢迎的「迪士尼黑色世界」,感受万圣节气氛。 我们更为参加者提供园内膳食和购物优惠。

职业健康与安全

 

本集团旗下面对较高职业健康与安全风险的业务均已成立安全委员会,并制定相关政策及规章。 不少成员公司已成立管理层及员工组成的联合工作小组,藉此吸纳前线员工的意见,并因应各自业务的性质,制定合适的安全措施。

為公路收費亭員工改善工作環境

2018

为公路收费亭员工改善工作环境

为了向收费亭员工提供更理想的工作环境,杭州国益为其中九个收费站提升了通风系统,过滤亭内空气。收费站位于国内浙江省交通繁忙的杭州绕城公路,公路上接近七成的收费亭现正采用已升级的系统。


我们在不同的天气条件下进行了多次空气质量测试,并将过滤的空气与升级前的空气样本进行比较,以了解工程的成效。测试结果显示,在所有天气情况下,包括雨天和大雾的日子,收费亭内的空气质素均呈现明显改善,足以证明新系统能有助大幅减少空气中的污染物。

協興以安全為先

2015

协兴以安全为先

协兴非常重视安全,一直全力预防及管理建筑地盘的风险,以不断提升工地安全水平,最终达至零工伤率的目标。协兴除了积极宣扬安全意识,更善用新科技,以达到双管齐下之效。


于2015年,协兴于内部推出一系列加强安全意识的大型推广计划,当中包括安全论坛、内部安全调查、教育短片、安全提示,以及安全工地嘉许计划。协兴的高级管理人员为表达对建立安全工作环境的决心,加紧视察建筑地盘、带领前线工友做早操、派发防晒用品,并向最具安全意识的员工颁发奖项,以示鼓励。


协兴的工程项目团队亦加以运用科技来监控及降低安全风险,例如在宝乡街公共房屋发展项目中,聘用专家根据二维工程图则制作成三维电脑图像,以便向前线工友清晰讲解工地的安全风险。此外,协兴亦委托香港理工大学开发「主控式建筑管理系统」,藉着在安全帽上增添全球卫星定位仪,为个别工友提供安全提示。当工友进入危险范围或走近操作中的机器时,系统便会发出警示。系统亦可统计工人最常踏入的高危范围,以便工程项目团队检讨及制定安全措施。


受惠于以上各项措施,加上所有员工群策群力,协兴地盘的工伤率持续下降,截至2015年6月30日止财政年度每1,000名工人有9.9宗意外,少于上一个财政年度每1,000名工人有11.3宗意外。协兴的工地受伤率远低于建造业界每1,000名工人平均有40宗工伤个案的水平。