<b>Environmental </b><span>Performance</span>

Environmental Performance



We strive to apply innovative solutions and initiatives to our services and operations as we reduce greenhouse gas emissions, waste, and the consumption of resources, from energy to water in accordance with our Sustainability Policy. We take into account local environmental laws and regulations wherever we operate, and endeavour to go beyond regulatory compliance and consistently benchmark ourselves against local and international standards and best practices. This ensures we are well positioned to continually enhance our environmental performance.

Climate Change

Approach

We are committed to playing our part to tackle climate change. We adopt the United Nations Sustainability Development Goals ("UN SDGs"), which provide guidance to our corporate citizenship and shapes our investment strategies and risk management. In the same spirit, we announced our Environmental Targets on carbon emission, energy consumption, waste and water management across our business in 2019, in support of New World Sustainability Vision 2030 (SV2030) of our parent company, New World Development Company Limited, and Hong Kong's transition towards a low-carbon, innovative economy. We have also established our Climate Change Policy in 2020 to outline our commitment to climate change by means of managing climate risks across our business strategy and operations.

For more information, please refer to Sustainable Development Goals and Environmental Targets in this website.

Carbon Emissions and Energy Consumption

We are committed to reducing our energy and carbon footprint, and continues to identify ways to achieve this. Energy consumption is the prime source of our greenhouse gas emissions; each of our business units works towards a common goal of developing their own guidelines and plans to reduce energy consumption year on year. In practice, our energy-reduction initiatives are two-fold; we promote the use of energy-efficient equipment and installation, while considering day-to-day business functions and employee behaviour to identify areas for improvement.

Environmental Targets

In 2019, we have announced our Environmental Targets for financial year (FY) 2030. Using FY2013 data as the baseline, we aim to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) intensity by 30%, energy intensity by 25% and water intensity by 30%, and to achieve at least 90% reuse of construction and demolition (C&D) materials by FY2030. These targets demonstrate our long-term commitment to being part of a low-carbon economy.

  • tonne(s)CO2e/
    HK$'m revenue
  • GJ/HK$'m
    revenue
  • m3/HK$'m
    revenue
  • Reuse of C&D
    materials

Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) tackle the most pressing environmental and social challenges of our time. As a responsible company, we pledge to protect the planet, and support stable and thriving societies. We identified four of the seventeen SDGs that are most relevant to us and that enable us to have the greatest impact. We aim to align our longer-term objectives with these goals.


SDGs
How We Help
  • Provide access to safe, effective and high-quality health care, offering quality medical treatment
  • Enhance access to clean water; reduce environmental impacts through proper handling of emissions including hazardous chemicals, air, water and soil pollution
  • Enhance customer experiences by improving quality of services in transportation, facilities management and roads operation
  • Contribute to economic growth
  • Enhance economic productivity through business diversification, technological upgrades and innovation
  • Provide employment and decent work for women and men, including young people and those with disabilities, and provide equal opportunity and pay for work of equal value
  • Protect labour rights and provide safe and secure working environments for all employees
  • Provide safe, affordable, accessible and sustainable transport systems to the wider community and improve road safety
  • Enhance inclusive and sustainable urbanisation in which people feel a sense of community
  • Support positive economic, social and environmental links between urban and rural areas by strengthening national and regional development planning
  • Environmental Conservation
  • Promote the development, transfer, dissemination and diffusion of environmentally sound technologies to communities in need
  • Support effective and targeted capacity-building in communities to support the implementation of SDGs (environment related)
  • Encourage and promote effective public, public-private and civil society partnerships

Environmental Management

Formed by representatives from our subsidiary companies and chaired by an Executive Director, our NWS Environmental Management Committee meets twice a year and provides a platform for the development and implementation of green initiatives, and the exchange of knowledge, experience and environmental best practices among business units. We review any previous cases of non-compliance, litigation and summons to identify risks related to environmental issues, and work out the best remedial measures available.

Air

Air emissions are a significant issue for the transportation, roads and construction industries. We support roadside air emissions reduction by investing to build an energy-efficient bus fleet. Similarly, environmental-friendly engines have been installed in our ferries to minimise marine air emissions. Although our highway operation business is not a direct contributor to road emissions, we support nation-wide objective to enhance air quality. We consistently develop innovative solutions, such as Venturi Cyclone at our construction sites to reduce air emissions from generator sets, and ensure proper environmental site management is in place.

Energy

We strive to reduce our energy consumption and invest in energy-efficient technologies. In addition to the initiatives for reducing air emissions by reducing fuel consumption, we actively seek for opportunities to expand our adoption of clean energy in our daily operations, such as the installation of solar panels at several business sites and providing on-shore power supply at various piers.

Water

Water plays an important role in our operations and we are committed to using it efficiently. We have a range of water-saving initiatives across our businesses with different focuses to address various operation nature.

Waste

Addressing specific waste issues requires practical steps adapted to the nature of work of each business unit. We use resources on a needs-only basis to minimise hazardous wastes, and try to reuse and recycle non-hazardous wastes where practical. To fulfil our commitment to minimising waste, we introduce a range of initiatives, including internal activities and external campaigns, to encourage communities and our stakeholders to join us on our sustainability journey.

Green Office at KOHO

2019

Green Office at KOHO

In our new office at KOHO that commences operation from late 2019, we have incorporated various green elements in the design, from furniture, material, electronic equipment and water consumption to waste management. We selected carpets that are made of 60% recycled materials, while environmentally-certified timber products are used to ensure their origins are from well-managed sustainable forest. The office is equipped with energy-efficient fan coil units, low-flow water faucet and LED lighting panels to reduce energy consumption. In waste reduction, recycling bins are provided in works area to promote waste reduction and recycling. Staff is also required to review and verify document printing by using staff card to reduce paper use.
Single-decker Electric Bus

2019

Single-decker Electric Bus

In addition to concerted efforts to improve emissions from conventional diesel buses, we have completed a trial of “zero-emission” single-deck electric buses. The pilot scheme was subsidised by the Hong Kong Government to study the reliability and economic feasibility of these vehicles. The results suggest it may be some time before electric buses could overcome the unique challenges of Hong Kong to become commercially viable. However, we continue to collaborate on the development of electric buses with the government and the industry. We have retained the electric single-deckers for two of our busiest routes after the trial.

We have also invested in building a fleet of more energy-efficient vehicles by commissioning 145 low emission Euro 6 buses. As of 30 June 2019, 95% of our entire bus fleet meets Euro 5 emission standards or above.

Adoption of Renewable Energy

2019

Adoption of Renewable Energy

Solar panels installed on the rooftop of the New World First Ferry office building are connected to the grid. They are expected to generate approximately 10,500 kWh of energy per year, saving 5,400kg of CO2 emissions. We have also installed solar panels on one of our ferries, “Xin Zhong”, to facilitate the use of six new on-board ventilation units.
Auto-Power Supply (APS) System to Enhance Energy Efficiency and Caron Reduction

2019

Auto-Power Supply (APS) System to Enhance Energy Efficiency and Caron Reduction

Comprising several connecting generator sets, APS forms a mini power station that regulates and distributes electricity to designated equipment on site through a local network. It uses fewer generator sets than a typical site setting and reduced fuel use by about 45% at our trial site at Tsing Yi Vehicle Examination Centre. Other benefits included also environmental noise reduction, carbon emission reduction and operational costs saving.

Plastic Reduction at HKCEC

2019

Plastic Reduction at HKCEC

In June 2019, HKCEC (Management) Limited was awarded the UFI Sustainable Development Award 2019 for its “Think Before Plastic” initiative. This annual award by UFI, a globally-recognised exhibition industry association, rewards effective and innovative communications that have a positive environmental impact. Our initiative saved the use of 1.7 million pieces of disposable plastic during FY2019.


Past case studies

<b>环保</b><span>表现</span>

环保表现



本集团致力于服务和营运层面使用创新解决方案与措施,务求减少温室气体排放量、废物产生量,以至包括能源和水等资源用量,以符合我们的可持续发展政策。我们会顾及各营运地的环保法律与法规,决心遵守比法规更严格的标准,并持续将本集团的表现与本地标准、国际标准及最佳实践比较,以确保本集团具备不断提升环保表现的良好条件。

气候变化

模式

我们致力为应对气候变化出一分力。我们採用了联合国可持续发展目标(SDGs)以引领我们作为良好企业公民的工作,并调节投资策略和风险管理。本着同样的精神,我们于2019年就碳排放、能源消耗、集团的废物及水管理公布环保目标,为我们的母公司新世界发展有限公司的「新世界2030可持续发展愿景」出一分力的同时,亦帮助香港加快成为低碳创新型经济体。我们亦于2020年建立了气候变化政策,透过管理业务策略及营运中的气候风险以应对气候变化。

如欲了解更多相关资讯,可参阅此网站的「可持续发展目标」及「环保目标」。

碳排放及能源消耗

本集团致力减少能源消耗和碳足迹,并持续识别方法以达致目标。能源消耗是本集团温室气体排放的主要来源。集团旗下各大成员公司目标一致,通过制订合适的指引及计划,期望按年减少耗用能源。在实际运作方面,我们的节能措施有两大方向,一方面提倡使用更具能源效益的设备及装置,同时设法在日常业务及员工行为中节能。

环保目标

于2019年,我们公布了2030财政年度的环保目标。以2013财政年度的数据为基线,我们的目标是在2030财政年度把温室气体排放强度减少30%,而能源强度及用水强度则分别减少25%及30%。此外,至少90%的建筑及清拆物料应予以循环再用。这些目标显示了我们对成为低碳经济一部分的长期承诺。

  • 吨二氧化碳当量╱
    百万港元收入
  • 千兆焦耳╱
    百万港元收入
  • 立方米╱
    百万港元收入
  • 建筑及清拆物料
    获重用

可持续发展目标(SDGs)

联合国可持续发展目标(SDGs)应对现时最迫切的环境和社会挑战。作为一间负责任的公司,我们承诺保护地球,支持社会的稳定和繁荣。我们从17个SDGs中选出4个与本集团最相关及可以让本集团发挥最大影响力的可持续发展目标作为我们的工作重点,并将本集团的长期目标以兹配合。


可持续发展目标
我们的措施
  • 提供安全、有效和高质量的健康保健服务,以及优质的医疗服务
  • 让大众更容易获得洁净的水资源;妥善处理有害化学物、空气、水源和土壤污染等排放问题,减少对环境的影响
  • 改善交通、设施管理及道路营运的服务质素,提升客户体验
  • 为经济发展作出贡献
  • 透过业务的多元发展、技术升级及创新,实现更高水平的经济增长
  • 为男性与女性(包括青年及残疾人仕)提供就业机会和体面工作,并实现平等机会及同工同酬
  • 保障劳工权益,为所有员工提供安全和有保障的工作环境
  • 为广大社区提供安全、可负担、无障碍和可持续的交通服务系统,改善道路安全
  • 促进共融和可持续的城市建设,建立社区精神
  • 透过加强国家与地区的发展规划,支持城乡之间建立积极的经济、社会和环境联系
  • 环境保护
  • 促进环境友好型技术的发展、转让、传播和推广,帮助有需要的社区
  • 支持有效和具针对性的社区能力建设,以期实现与环境有关的可持续发展目标
  • 鼓励和促进有效的公营、公私营和民间社会合作伙伴关系

环保管理

新创建环保管理委员会由集团执行董事出任主席,委员包括集团成员公司的代表。委员会每年召开两次会议,为发展和落实绿色措施提供平台,同时促进业务单位之间在知识、经验和环保最佳实务方面的交流。我们亦会审视过往的违规、诉讼和传票个案,以辨识与环境问题相关的风险,并适时制定最佳的补救措施。

空气

废气排放是交通、道路和建筑行业须面对的一项重大问题。我们大力投资建立节能巴士车队,以支援减少路边废气排放,同时亦为旗下渡轮安装环保型引擎,以减少船只造成的空气污染。虽然我们作为高速公路营运者并无直接产生道路上的废气排放,但我们会积极响应提升空气质素的全国性目标。我们不断引入创新解决方案,例如在建筑工地内装置文氏旋风分离器以减少发电机组所产生的废气排放,并确保采取适当的环境工地管理。

能源

我们致力减少能源消耗及投资于具能源效益的技术。除了透过减低能源消耗以减少废气排放的措施外,我们亦积极发掘机会于日常业务中增加使用洁净能源,例如于业务地点安装太阳能电板及于不同码头提供岸上供电装置。

水资源是本集团业务的重要元素,而我们亦致力有效利用水资源。我们在不同的业务中采取多样化的节水措施,以配合不同的营运性质,同时亦能集中应对各业务的重点。

废弃物

集团的业务单位会因应各自的业务特性,就废物处理问题对症下药。本集团仅按需要使用资源,以减少产生危险废物,我们亦会尝试在可行的情况下重用及回收非危险废物。为履行本集团减少产生废物的承诺,我们推出了一系列的措施,包括集团内部及对外的活动,以鼓励社区与我们的持份者参与本集团的可持续发展旅程。

綠色辦公室

2019

绿色办公室

我们的KOHO办公室于2019年尾启用,当中从家具、物料、电器、用水及废物管理等方面都加入了环保元素,以实践环境及社会的可持续发展。室内的地毯由逾60%的再造物料制成,而木材则采用获环保认证的木板,确保其来自可持续发展管理的森林。在节约能源方面,集团采用高节能型号的空调设备、低流量的水龙头及LED灯,以助省水、省电;减废方面,工作间设置回收箱以推广减少及回收废物,而同事们亦须用员工卡核实所列印的文件,减少纸张用量。
單層電動巴士

2019

单层电动巴士

除透过多方面努力改善传统柴油巴士的排放外,我们亦经已完成「零排放」单层电动巴士测试。由香港政府资助的试点计划旨在研究电动巴士的可靠性和经济可行性。结果显示,电动巴士可能还需要一段时间才能克服香港的独特挑战,以达致经济效益。然而,我们将继续与政府及业界合作,共同进行电动巴士的发展工作。我们在测试后保留了这些单层电动巴士,并在两条最繁忙的巴士路线上继续使用。

我们大力投资建立节能车队,引入145架低排放欧盟六型巴士。截至2019年6月30日为止,我们已有95%的巴士符合欧盟五型或以上的排放标准。
採用可再生能源

2019

采用可再生能源

我们在新渡轮办公室大楼的天台上安装了太阳能电板,并已连接至电网,其每年预计可产生约10,500千瓦时的能源,减少5,400公斤的二氧化碳排放。我们亦于旗下渡轮「新忠号」设置了太阳能电板,以推动船上六个新增的通风系统装置。
使用自動供電系統提升能源效益及減少碳排放

2019

使用自动供电系统提升能源效益及减少碳排放

自动供电系统是一个由数台发电机组连接组成的微型发电站,透过工地内的电线网络调节电力并传送至工地的指定设备。系统所需的发电机组数目少于一般常见的设置,而且在青衣验车中心的试行项目中更能够减少约45%的燃料用量。其他优点包括减少环境噪音、降低碳排放及节省营运成本。
會展管理公司的減廢活動

2019

会展管理公司的减废活动

于2019年6月,会展管理公司的「减塑行动」项目勇夺国际展览业协会(UFI)颁发的「2019年UFI可持续发展大奖」。这项每年一度的可持续发展大奖是全球认可展览业组织UFI所颁发的年度奖项,旨在表扬对环境产生积极影响的创新交流。透过是次行动,2019财政年度的即弃塑胶物品用量成功减少了170万件。

以往的个案研究