<span>Environmental </span><b>Performance</b>

Environmental Performance

As a Group, we manage our direct environmental footprint and use sustainability criteria in investment choices to help stimulate the transition to a sustainable economy. To achieve this goal, we have established the Environmental Committee (now renamed as “Environmental Management Committee”) in December 2007. Formed by representatives from all of our subsidiary companies and chaired by an Executive Director, the Committee is responsible for formulating green strategies and overseeing the implementation of environmental initiatives. We employ a holistic management approach that involves continuously reviewing existing practices, planning and implementing new initiatives, tracking our progress and the pursuit of improvement.


In our operations, we take into account regulatory requirements and environmental impacts, and adopt international standards and systems where possible. We also run capacity building and internal engagement programmes to mobilize staff supports for our initiatives to reduce environmental footprint and business risk.

Comprehensive Environmental Management

 

We identify risk by reviewing any previous cases of non-compliance, litigation and summonses for environmental issues, and work out the best remedial measures available. We endeavour to manage our operations according to international environmental standards and processes, such as the ISO 14001 Environmental Management System, ISO 50001 Energy Management System, and ISO 20121 Event Sustainability Management System.

Promoting Responsible Consumption

2017

Promoting Responsible Consumption

Staff awareness and support is crucial to achieving the Group's environmental initiatives. To this end, we run employee campaign every year to inform them of topical environmental issues and call for action towards the betterment of our environment.


The FY2017 employee green campaign featured "Sustainable Procurement and Consumption" as its theme, encouraging employees to source and consume sustainably, both at work and at home. As well as organizing a site visit to a town gas production plant for Green Managers, we held a series of light-hearted activities to promote sustainable consumption as part of everyday life. These included a staff competition to identify environmentally-friendly shops, a family visit to an organic farm, and an Eco Bazaar.


At the Eco Bazaar held at the Corporate Office, employees took part in a talk and mix-and-match games led by Green Ladies, a social enterprise set up by St. James’ Settlement to promote green fashion. Employees could also take the opportunity to donate used clothes on site, and buy from a selection of used fashion items and upcycled accessories from Green Ladies.

A Sustainable Exhibition and Meeting Hub

2015

A Sustainable Exhibition and Meeting Hub

The Group's wholly owned subsidiary, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (Management) Limited ("HML"), is responsible for the management and daily operation of Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre ("HKCEC"). HML demonstrated its leadership in the event venue sector by making HKCEC the first venue in Hong Kong to obtain the ISO 20121 Event Sustainability Management System certification in 2015. This reflects HML's commitment to achieving strong business results while being socially and environmentally responsible.


The ISO 20121 Event Sustainability Management System certification ensures that HKCEC establishes a full spectrum of sustainability measures throughout the event-management cycle. These measures cover energy conservation, waste reduction and recycling, technology advancement, public safety, as well as staff and community welfare. All staff members have been trained to integrate these measures into their day-to-day work.


HKCEC's newly renovated restaurant, Congress Plus, also became the first restaurant in Hong Kong to receive LEED Gold Certification for Interior Design and Construction: Commercial Interiors V2009, and achieved a Silver rating of BEAM Plus Interior V1.0 by the Hong Kong Green Building Council for its sustainable interior design. Notable features include carpet made of 50% recycled materials, and LED lighting fitted with a dimmer system and daylight sensors. Energy consumption is also reduced through the use of a zoned intelligent air-conditioning system and environmentally friendly kitchen equipment.

Reducing Energy Consumption and Emissions

 

Each of our business units works towards a common goal of developing their own guidelines and plans to reduce energy consumption year on year. In practice, our energy-reduction initiatives are two-fold; we promote the use of energy-efficient equipment and installation, while considering day-to-day business functions and employee behaviour to identify areas for improvement.

Turning a New Page in Sustainable Building

2017

Turning a New Page in Sustainable Building

As demand for sustainable buildings grows, Hip Hing has partnered with Nano and Advanced Materials Institute Limited to develop an innovative capsule technology for producing strong lightweight concrete, a more environmentally-friendly construction material that is set to benefit developers, users and the environment. This innovation earned its development team a gold medal at the 45th International Exhibition of Inventions of Geneva 2017, which is considered one of the most prestigious shows worldwide in innovations.


The concrete produced with this new technology features high fire resistance, lower thermal conductivity and higher acoustic absorption efficiency than regular concrete. With thermal conductivity at only about 0.5W/m.K, 70% lower than standard concrete in the market, less air conditioning is required to achieve acceptable comfort for occupants, thereby reducing energy use, carbon emissions and saving costs.


Hip Hing’s broader commitment to sustainable building is also reflected in the expanding number of professionals it employs and trains to support clients in developing BEAM Plus or LEED-certified green buildings. Its project teams also proactively implement green measures across construction sites to reduce the environmental impact of the building process.

Innovating to Save Energy

2016

Innovating to Save Energy

Macao Water Supply Co. Ltd. (“Macao Water”) supports the research and development of environmental technologies as part of its efforts to optimize operational efficiency and improve environmental performance. Macao Water has engaged into a research application project of the University of Macau to apply a "Low Cost and Low Current Loss Energy Saving Device" into practical application environment. The University of Macau developed this technology from concept to circuitry design and control-algorithm development, with the funding by the Macao Science and Technology Development Fund and the Research Committee of University of Macau and also the technical support and installation location provided by Macao Water. The device, which was installed in a pump in the Main Storage Reservoir Water Treatment Plant I, has proved to be effective in lowering power usage and delivering a higher efficiency than competing products in the market.

Hybrid and Electric Bus

2015

Hybrid and Electric Bus

New World First Bus Services Limited ("NWFB") and Citybus Limited ("Citybus") continue to introduce the newest, low-emission buses. Three hybrid buses are already in service and 10 electric, single-deck buses has been going through trial run since 2015. Hybrid technology allows buses to shut down their engines and operate purely by electricity when the speed is lower than 7km/h, helping reduce roadside emissions at low speeds and when idling in traffic. Electric buses produce zero emissions throughout their journey and can travel up to 250 kilometres on a single charge, after which they require only four hours to recharge at the bus depot.


The electric buses would undergo a series of rigorous and comprehensive internal assessment to ensure that performance and safety meet our high standards before entering public service.

HKCEC Solar Film Project

2013

HKCEC Solar Film Project

While large windows let natural sunlight into a building, the solar heat generated places demands on a building’s cooling system and increases energy consumption. An effective way of reducing energy consumption is to cover windows with solar-blocking film; this filters out excessive sunlight and provides a more comfortable indoor environment with less need for cooling, reducing costs and energy consumption.


Nano solar window film has been applied to the largest glass wall at HKCEC’s Expo Drive entrance, effectively reducing direct sunlight by up to 40% in indoor areas. Since this project was completed, energy consumption at HKCEC has been reduced by 285,497kWh (1,028GJ) per annum, which is equivalent to the yearly energy consumption of 50 four-person families in Hong Kong. These energy savings also resulted in an equivalent reduction of approximately 200 tonnes of carbon emissions per annum.

Materials and Waste Management

 

Addressing specific waste issues requires practical steps adapted to the nature of work of each business unit. For example, our construction companies adopt various industry standards for waste management, and are committed to reusing resources wherever practicable and adopting a variety of renewable and sustainable materials in development projects. To reduce food waste at HKCEC, we partner with exhibitors, event organisers and local charities to donate unconsumed banquet food to those in need.

Inert Materials Transfer Programme

2014

Inert Materials Transfer Programme

The construction industry produces large quantities of inert waste, including excavated soil, rocks and broken concrete. Ordinarily disposed of in government temporary fill banks, these materials can be used in reclamation projects and other construction sites. Hip Hing is working with subcontractors to implement an Inert Materials Transfer Programme, which distributes our inert waste for reuse in other construction projects. Waste is diverted from landfills and other construction sites receive free backfill material. In the financial year ended 30 June 2014, we reused 91% of the inert waste generated, which represented over 9,800m3 of landfill space saved and a cost saving of over HK$450,000. Hip Hing continues to engage foundation subcontractors to help identify more external projects to receive our inert waste.

Food Waste Control at HKCEC

2014

Food Waste Control at HKCEC

We are working to reduce food waste at HKCEC through food donation programmes and fooddecomposer machines on site. In the financial year ended 30 June 2014, HKCEC managed to divert over 37,000kg of food waste from landfills.


HML joined hands with local charities Food Angel and St. James’ Settlement to donate surplus food, including unconsumed cooked food, raw food and bread, to the needy. In that financial year, over 3,000kg of food was donated, compared to about 1,500kg in the previous financial year, representing a two-fold increase.


HML’s employees and clients are engaged in food donation. All new staff members are briefed on the programme at their orientation. Individuals involved in the food handling process, including chefs, kitchen staff and catering staff, are well informed of the proper procedure for preparing any surplus food for donation. Event managers inform clients of the programme, and encourage them to support this worthy cause.

<span>环境</span><b>保护</b>

环境保护

集团竭力妥善管理业务对环境所构成的直接影响,作出投资时,也会考虑到可持续发展准则,借此参与推进可持续发展经济。我们于2007年12月成立新创建环保委员会(现名为环保管理委员会),委员包括集团所有成员公司的代表,并由集团执行董事出任主席,负责制定环保策略和监督相关措施在集团内的执行情况。本集团采取整全的管理方针,涵盖层面包括持续检讨现行工作、策划及推行新措施、监察进度及寻求改进空间。


在营运业务时,我们也会顾及监管要求和环境影响,并尽可能采纳国际标准和系统。与此同时,我们定期举办内部培训及员工活动,鼓励员工同心协力减少集团对环境的影响和经营风险。

全面的环境管理

 

我们集团的环境管理委员会负责监督环保策略的制订及实施,并于营运层面监察环保进度。该委员会亦监察《可持续发展政策》所胪列与环境范畴相关的表现,包括环境管理有否符合国际标准及程序,例如ISO 14001环保管理系统、ISO 50001能源管理体系,以及ISO 20121活动可持续发展管理系统。我们审视过往的违规、诉讼和传票个案,以辨识与环境问题相关的风险,并适时制定最佳的补救措施。

回收電腦捐贈予有需要的學校

2018

回收电脑捐赠予有需要的学校

于2018财政年度,新创建集团与欧绿保综合环保(香港)有限公司合作,于整个集团推行电子废物回收活动。该全年活动早于政府实施「废电器电子产品生产者责任计划」前一年已推出,目的是鼓励员工于工作或家居采纳环保概念。活动收集了超过180件电子产品,经回收或翻新后送往本地学校及慈善团体。透过本集团举办的「创建生涯路」社区计划的网络,我们将经翻新并已安装新软件的电脑捐赠予葵青区的中小学。
負責任的消費態度

2017

负责任的消费态度

员工的环保意识及支持对本集团推行环保至关重要。为此,我们每年均会举办员工活动,让他们了解最新的环保议题,并提倡把环保概念付诸实行。


2017 财政年度的员工环保活动以「可持续采购和消费」为主题,推动员工在工作和日常生活中实践可持续的消费模式。除了安排环保经理考察煤气生产厂房外,我们还举办了一系列的活动,鼓励员工从日常生活中实行可持续消费,当中包括环保商店推介比赛、员工家属有机农场参观日及「裳」绿市集活动。


在总办事处举行的「裳」绿市集中,员工参加由圣雅各福群会辖下的社会企业Green Ladies 主办的讲座及时装搭配游戏,借此推广环保时装。员工还可即场捐赠旧衣物,选购由该机构提供的二手时装及经精心再造的饰物。

可持續發展會議及展覽樞紐

2015

可持续发展会议及展览枢纽

香港会议展览中心(管理)有限公司(「会展管理公司」)是集团的全资附属公司,负责管理香港会议展览中心(「会展中心」)的日常营运。会展中心于2015年成为香港首个获ISO 20121活动可持续发展管理系统认证的活动场地,反映会展管理公司作为业界翘楚,竭力创造佳绩及承担社会及环保责任。


会展中心取得的ISO 20121活动可持续发展管理系统认证,印证其于活动筹划及进行期间执行全方位可持续发展措施,包括节能、减废与回收、技术提升、公众安全和关爱员工及社区等。目前,全体员工均已接受相关培训,务求在日常工作之中落实上述措施。


此外,会展中心内经翻新的「荟景」餐厅亦成为全港首间荣获LEED室内设计及建筑V2009版金级认证的餐厅,其室内设计符合可持续发展理念,亦获得由香港绿色建筑议会认​​可的绿建环评1.0版(室内建筑)银级认证。 「荟景」餐厅的环保特色包括:地毡以50%环保物料制成;照明系统采用LED灯饰配上可调控光暗装置及自动感光系统。餐厅亦安装了有助节省能源的分区智能空调系统,并且选用环保厨房设备。

节能减排

 

集团旗下各大成员公司目标一致,通过制订合适的指引及计划,期望按年减少耗用能源。在实际运作方面,我们的节能措施有两大方向,一方面提倡使用更具能源效益的设备及装置,同时设法在日常业务及员工行为中节能。

創新意念推動環保建築工地

2018

创新意念推动环保建筑工地

有鉴于柴油发电机排出的废气是建筑工地空气污染的主要来源之一,故此协兴研发并安装了一部名为「文氏旋风分离器」的创新设备。分离器借助发电机废气产生的动能把水份雾化,用以黏附废气中的污染物,再通过工地的污水处理设施加以处理,然后排放到工地外的都市排水系统。经处理的污水符合非常严格的水质标准。


平均而言,分离器能去除建筑工地柴油发电机产生约90%的主要污染物,包括未燃烧的碳氢化合物、氮氧化物、二氧化硫和二氧化碳。此外,该设备有效减低发电机造成的噪音及温度影响,进一步改善地盘的工作环境和减少对环境的整体影响。

可持續建築揭開新一頁

2017

可持续建筑揭开新一页

有见可持续建筑需求日趋殷切,协兴与纳米及先进材料研发院有限公司合作研发了一种适用于生产超强轻质混凝土的创新胶囊技术,此技术能让物业发展商及使用者受惠,并为环境带来裨益。于2017 年,该项发明更于全球知名的创新科技展览「第45 届日内瓦国际发明展」上勇夺金奖殊荣。


采用此新技术制成的混凝土较普通混凝土具有更高耐火性、较低的导热性和较强的隔音效能。其中导热率仅约0.5瓦╱米• 度,较市场上的标准混凝土低70%。换言之,即使室内减少使用冷气,仍能保持可接受的舒适度。用户可藉此减少使用能源,帮助减低碳排放及节省开支。


协兴推动可持续建筑的决心,同时反映于其增聘及培训专业人员,为客户建造「绿建环评」或LEED认证的环保建筑物。其工程项目团队亦主动于建筑地盘推行环保措施,减少建造过程对环境产生的影响。

創新技術節約能源

2016

创新技术节约能源

澳门自来水股份有限公司(「澳门自来水」)一直支持环保科技的研发工作,以提升营运效率,并改善环保绩效。澳门自来水参与澳门大学的「低成本及低损耗电流质量补偿省电装置」的研发工作,并将此装置应用于实际环境。澳门大学主导项目概念、电路设计,以至控制演算法的开发,研发资金由澳门科学技术发展基金和澳门大学研究委员会拨出,而澳门自来水则为项目提供技术支援及运作场地。该装置现已安装在大水塘水厂一期一台水泵内,经使用后证明能有效减少耗电,成效甚至较市面同类产品为高。

混合動力及電動巴士

2015

混合动力及电动巴士

新世界第一巴士服务有限公司(「新巴」)及城巴有限公司(「城巴」)持续引入最新的混能、电动、欧盟四型及五型巴士等高效益低排放巴士。两巴目前有三辆混合动力巴士已投入服务,并自2015年起实地测试10辆电动单层巴士。采用混合动力技术的巴士在时速低于每小时七公里时,引擎会关闭并以纯电力驱动,可减少低速行驶及停车空转时的路面排放。电动巴士在行驶途中不会产生任何排放,充电一次最多可行驶250公里,其后于巴士车厂充电约四小时后便可继续提供服务。


电动巴士于投入服务前会经过一系列严格及全面的内部测试,确保其机件性能及安全符合我们的高规格标准。

會展中心太陽能薄膜工程

2013

会展中心太阳能薄膜工程

大型窗户能把自然光引入室内,但阳光的热力同时会增加建筑物的冷气需求及用电量。在窗户装上太阳能薄膜可有效节能,既能阻挡过盛的阳光照射,令室内环境更加舒适,亦可减少使用冷气,从而节省成本,并且节约用电。


会展中心为博览道入口的大型玻璃幕墙安装了纳米太阳能薄膜,此举有效阻隔四成阳光进入室内,每年能减少用电量达285,497千瓦时(1,028千兆焦耳),相当于香港50个四人家庭一年的耗电量,效果等同于每年减少约200吨碳排放量。

物料及废物管理

 

集团的业务单位会因应各自的业务特性,就废物处理问题对症下药。举例而言,集团旗下的建筑公司会根据多项行业标准管理废物,并致力在可行的情况下重用资源,以及于发展项目中使用可再生及可持续物料。为减少会展中心的厨余问题,我们与展览商、活动举办单位和本地慈善团体合作,将宴会中未经食用的食材转赠予有需要人士。

「惰性廢料轉化計劃」

2014

「惰性废料转化计划」

建筑工程往往产生大量惰性废料,包括挖掘所得的泥土、石块和碎混凝土,这些废料一般会弃置于政府临时填料库,但其实可供填海工程和其他建筑地盘之用。有见及此,协兴与分判商合作推行「惰性废料转化计划」,把惰性废料重用于其他建筑项目,于截至2014年6月30日止财政年度重用率达91%,相等于节省9,800立方米堆填区空间,既可减轻堆填区的负荷,又能让其他地盘获得免费的回填材料,同时可节省逾450,000港元成本。协兴会持续邀请地基分判商合作,使更多外界项目能够取得有用的惰性废料。

會展中心的廚餘控制措施

2014

会展中心的厨余控制措施

我们通过推出食物捐赠计划及引入厨余分解机,双管齐下减少会展中心的厨余问题。于截至2014年6月30日止财政年度,会展中心成功把运往堆填区的厨余减少超过37,000千克。


会展管理公司与本地慈善机构惜食堂以及圣雅各福群会合作,将未经食用的熟食、未经烹煮的食材及剩余面包捐赠予有需要人士。于该财政年度,公司合共捐出逾3,000千克剩余食物,比上年度1,500多千克增加一倍。


会展管理公司更积极与员工及客户携手推动食物捐赠计划。除了在迎新培训中向所有新入职员工简介相关计划外,亦会向厨师、厨房员工及餐饮员工等负责处理食物的人员提供正确处理捐赠食物的指引。我们的项目经理会向客户阐释计划内容,鼓励支持此善举。