<span>Value </span><b>Chain</b>

Value Chain

Our business is the nexus between business partners and suppliers, and customers who help shape the products and services we offer. We play a crucial leadership role in managing environmental and social risks in our supply chain, and can exert a positive influence on those individuals and organizations we work with to drive sustainability.

Indirect Economic Contribution

 

In addition to creating some 11,000 job opportunities, our businesses play an active part in fostering a vibrant economic environment in Hong Kong. Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre ("HKCEC") which we manage is a powerhouse of international conventions, trade shows and exhibitions, contributing to the steadfast growth of trade and business both in Hong Kong and internationally. We also strive to make Hong Kong a well-connected, economically viable and empowered city by providing safe, reliable and efficient bus and ferry services to over 1.1 million commuters on a daily basis.

Supply Chain Management

 

In managing our supply chain, we require our business partners and suppliers to abide by the ethical, social and environmental standards and principles stipulated in the "Supplier Code of Conduct" developed by our parent company, New World Development Company Limited. At the operational level, we adopt a decentralized procurement approach, whereby subsidiaries are given full autonomy in sourcing suppliers and identifying partners based on their practical business needs. However, as part of our efforts to promote a low-carbon economy, we endeavour to procure sustainable materials and source from local suppliers whenever possible. In the tendering process, our construction companies evaluate and benchmark subcontractors' safety, environmental, community, employee and governance performance on top of professional competence and project track records.

Rewarding Sustainable Practices

2017

Rewarding Sustainable Practices

Responsible supply chain practices are duly recognized within the Group, especially within our construction businesses, in which subcontractors play a vital role. In FY2017, Hip Hing introduced a new awards scheme to acknowledge exemplary contributions by subcontractors on three critical aspects of construction work: safety, environmental protection, and quality. Yee Hop Construction Co. Ltd was presented with "2016 Outstanding Subcontractor (Environmental Protection)" to commend its exceptional performance and responsible conduct in the industry.


Yee Hop recently worked with Hip Hing on the construction projects in Kai Tak and Tung Chung. In these projects, Yee Hop went the extra mile to put together additional environment-friendly measures to minimize impacts on the environment, which included installing sound insulation on electric motors to control noise levels, and implementing additional waste recycling solutions to reuse excavated mud and sediment for backfilling at other locations.

Hip Hing 'We Hear Your Voice' Safety Campaign

2015

Hip Hing "We Hear Your Voice" Safety Campaign

Each construction site is different, and a one-size-fits-all approach to safety may not capture the full extent of risk at any given site. Safety and accident-prevention measures can be made more effective by taking account of feedback from site-based staff and frontline workers, who have first-hand experience of the risks and stand to be most affected by these measures.


Hip Hing has launched a new "We Hear Your Voice" safety campaign to help improve site safety. This involves site managers convening regular meetings with representatives of their subcontractors, who relay safety risks identified by frontline workers and discuss suggested mitigation measures. Suggestions are posted on a designated information board on site, discussed and then prioritized. Hip Hing makes resources available so that viable suggestions can be implemented.

Hip Hing Subcontractor Forum

2015

Hip Hing Subcontractor Forum

An effective business is one that engages stakeholders within its value chain, collaborating to addresschallenges in a timely manner. The annual Subcontractor Forum was part of Hip Hing’s approach to tackle business issues with its partners. This platform brought subcontractors together for a structured discussion on construction issues ranging from project quality and the environment to safety and occupational health.


In 2015, the Hip Hing Subcontractor Forum reaffirmed the importance of site safety, engaging representatives from some 118 subcontracting companies in a dialogue on concurrent safety risk. Senior management from both Hip Hing and the subcontractors exchanged views on precautionary measures to safeguard workers, contractors and any visitors to construction sites. The measures discussed include policies, mechanisms and educational and technological tools that could be applied to prevent site accidents in both the immediate and long term.


At the forum, it was emphasized that the accident rate had dropped when compared to the previous years, as a result of joint efforts between Hip Hing and its subcontractors. Senior management from both Hip Hing and the subcontractors pledged to further these efforts to improve site safety.

Driving Sustainable Practices in Supply Chain

2014

Driving Sustainable Practices in Supply Chain

The Group strives to minimize our environmental footprint through working with our suppliers. In businesses with greater risk of environmental impact, sustainability performance is considered in the selection process of suppliers. Supplier workflow is regularly reviewed so that we can identify opportunities to make supply chain processes more environmentally friendly.


Hip Hing has a rigorous tendering process, in which evaluation of the sustainability performance of subcontractors forms an integral part. All prospective suppliers and subcontractors are required to provide information on their sustainability practices in the tendering process. They are required to submit a self-assessment questionnaire that seeks to understand their track record of compliance, the sustainability standards or guidelines they subscribe to, and any initiatives that show evidence of investment in corporate governance, workplace practices, community projects and environmental protection. Suppliers scoring high in these areas are given preference for tenders, providing an incentive for them to deliver services in a more responsible manner.


Our bus operations require a substantial number of spare parts for maintenance. An estimated 50% of these parts are delivered on wooden pallets. However, these pallets, about 1,000 pieces per year, are often disposed after delivery, adding burden to local landfills. Our bus companies have requested their largest supplier of parts to use more durable and recyclable plastic pallets instead, which can be returned to the supplier for reuse after delivery, saving timber resources and reducing costs for both sides. The supplier has taken this idea on board and recommended the same approach to its other clients.

Enhancing Customer Experience

 

To create a better customer experience, we have developed various feedback mechanisms to gauge customer views. When delivering our products and services, we go beyond basic requirements and take into account a broad range of customer needs.

Thumbs Up To Bus Captains

2017

Thumbs Up To Bus Captains

Public bus services are a key means of transport in Hong Kong, and bus captains are vital in keeping these services going. In a push to deliver service excellence and encourage drivers to better engage with passengers, New World First Bus Services Limited ("NWFB") and Citybus Limited (“Citybus”) launched the Thumbs Up to Bus Captains programme in November 2016. Under the scheme, passengers were invited to nominate bus drivers they felt had delivered outstanding services and had performed a good deed.


Citybus driver Pang Chung Kin was among the six recipients of an award for distinguished services. Pang was nominated for his compassionate care for an unwell passenger, who was carefully attended to and settled on a priority seat during the ride. Pang stopped the bus at a hospital en route and showed the passenger the way to the emergency room.

New World First Ferry Supports Breastfeeding

2016

New World First Ferry Supports Breastfeeding

New World First Ferry Services Limited ("NWFF") launched the first ever breastfeeding room on Hong Kong public transport in June 2016. The 4.6-square metre facility aboard Xin Guang, a triple-deck ferry that runs between Central and Cheung Chau, is equipped with air-conditioning, a sofa, diaper pad, wash basin, hand dryer and an emergency bell. Breastfeeding mothers are welcome to use the room by informing our staff before boarding or during sailing. NWFF plans to extend this initiative to three other triple-deck ferries by 2017.

Accessible Transportation for All

2015

Accessible Transportation for All

At NWS Holdings, we are firmly committed to catering to the diverse physical abilities and language preferences of our customer base. We strive to ensure broader access to our reliable and convenient bus and ferry services. We engage with disability groups to better understand their needs and provide them with the best possible barrier-free access.


We aim to meet our target of converting all of our buses to low-floor models by 2017 to make them easier to access for wheelchair users. Meanwhile, NWFF began to build additional wheelchair parking in all of its three-decker ferries in 2015.Trilingual Automatic Bus Stop Announcement Systems on our bus fleet help to orient and accommodate the visually-impaired, and serve tourist groups and Hong Kong's diverse ethnic communities. To assist the speech and hearing-impaired, motion bus stop display panels clearly indicate the next stop along bus routes. Additionally, a dedicated SMS Enquiry Service has been established to help this group of customers make enquires on bus services.


NWFF also incorporates accessibility features into its award-winning mobile app, available on both Android and iOS operating systems. Visually-impaired customers can check departure times, fares and other ferry service information; to help them, the app uses optimal colour contrast, audio descriptions of images, PDF files and enhanced browsing functions.

Taking a Smart Journey

2014

Taking a Smart Journey

As elsewhere in the world, Hong Kong people value convenience. To help our passengers plan a seamless journey, we have developed mobile applications (“app”) for our bus and ferry services.


Debuted in 2011, the NWFB and Citybus mobile app is regularly updated. In 2014, this app added a new “Next Bus Arrival Time Enquiry” feature, which provides passengers with access to real-time information on arrival times (within 45 minutes) at nearly 300 bus stops for all Cityflyer routes. App users can also read passenger notices to stay informed of any changes to services, routes and bus stop locations resulting from road works or special arrangements during festive seasons. Using the app, passengers can reduce waiting time at bus stops and plan their trips to and from the airport with ease. The app received the Best Public Service Application Grand Award and Best Public Service (Transformation) Gold Award at the Hong Kong ICT Awards 2013 organized by the HKSAR Government.


The NWFF mobile app launched in 2014 has a “Next Sailing” function, which automatically shows the departure time of the next sailing from the moment the user launches the app and provides related journey time and safety information. The app functions as a portable mini travel guide for tourist hotspots in Mui Wo and Cheung Chau, and can provide a list of interesting sites with background information. The app can also be used in conjunction with a reading aid for visually-impaired passengers. The web accessibility design of the app was recognized by the HKSAR Government Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme in 2014 with a Silver Award in the Mobile Application Stream.

<span>價值</span><b>鏈</b>

價值

業務夥伴、供應商及顧客與本集團的業務緊密相連,直接影響及塑造我們所提供的產品及服務。為管理供應鏈的環境及社會風險,本集團積極扮演關鍵的主導角色,對合作夥伴及機構發揮正面的影響力,落實可持續發展理念。

間接經濟貢獻

 

除了為市場創造約11,000個就業機會,我們的業務更有助推動香港經濟蓬勃發展。由本集團管理的香港會議展覽中心,作為國際會議、貿易展銷及展覽的主要場地,能帶動本港及國際商貿穩健增長。集團旗下的巴士及渡輪每日載客量逾110萬人次,我們致力提供安全可靠、快捷方便的交通服務,協助香港打造成為四通八達、充滿經濟動力的城市。

供應鏈管理

 

在管理供應鏈時,我們要求合作夥伴及供應商遵守母公司新世界發展有限公司所訂立的《供應商守則》,並須受當中所列明的道德、社會及環保標準及原則制約。在營運層面,我們將採購主導權下放,讓各業務單位根據實際業務考慮選擇供應商及合作夥伴。然而,為支持發展低碳經濟,我們會優先向本地供應商採購符合可持續發展原則的材料。本集團的建築公司在招標過程中不僅會考慮分判商的專業能力及項目往績,更會考慮它們在安全、環境、社區、員工及管治方面的表現。

協興「你講我聽」安全運動

2015

協興「你講我聽」安全運動

由於每個建築地盤運作情況各有不同,因此沒有一套安全方針足以應對所有地盤的各種風險。工地員工及前線工人清楚了解安全風險所在,而且安全措施亦對其有切身影響,因此協興會借助他們意見,以制定更有效的安全及預防措施。


協興推出「你講我聽」安全運動,配合改善工地安全。工地經理會定期召開會議,而分判商則會委派代表參與,並轉達前線工人洞悉的安全風險,同時商議預防或改善措施。有關建議會張貼於工地特設的公告欄,以供討論,然後訂出優先次序並付諸實行。協興會撥出資源,用以實踐可行的方案。

協興分判商研討會

2015

協興分判商研討會

與價值鏈中的持份者保持緊密聯繫,適時攜手解決問題,是高效營運的不二法門。協興每年均 舉辦分判商研討會,作為與合作夥伴共同應對業務挑戰的途徑之一。此舉可讓一眾分判商聚首一堂,有系統地討論及分析工程質量、環保,以至職安健等與建築息息相關的議題。


在2015年,協興藉分判商研討會重申工地安全的重要性。118名分判商代表在會上共同探討常見的安全風險問題。協興及分判商的高級管理人員更於會上交流觀點,提出各種保障工人、分判商及地盤訪客安全的預防措施,包括制訂涵蓋政策、機制、宣傳教育與技術工具等方面的短期及長期措施,以預防地盤發生意外。


在協興與分判商共同努力下,意外率較過往有所下降。協興及分判商的高級管理人員均承諾繼續努力改善地盤安全。

推動供應鏈可持續發展

2014

推動供應鏈可持續發展

本集團與供應商通力合作,致力減少對環境構成的影響。於環境風險較大的業務,我們甄選供應商時會考慮其可持續發展的績效,並會定期檢視供應商的工作程序,從而發掘可提升供應鏈環保表現的方法。


協興的招標過程嚴謹,評核分判商可持續發展表現是不可或缺的環節。在投標過程中,所有參與遴選的供應商和分判商都必須提供他們的可持續發展實務資料,亦要提交一份自我評核問卷,交代遵守法規的紀錄、可持續發展標準或指引,以及證明他們於企業管治、工作實務、社區計劃和環保措施方面的投入。在上述範疇得分較高的供應商會獲優先考慮,藉此鼓勵他們循更負責任的營運方式為協興提供服務。


另一方面,由於本集團旗下巴士業務需要不少零件供維修之用,估計一半以上的零件是以用完即棄的木卡板運送,每年使用約1,000塊,會加重本地堆填區的負荷。新巴及城巴要求最大的零件供應商以更耐用和可循環再用的塑膠卡板取代木卡板。運送零件後,塑膠卡板可交回供應商循環再用,此舉不但節省木材,雙方還可藉此降低成本。供應商已採納有關建議,更向其他客戶推廣相同措施。

優化客戶體驗

 

為了優化客戶體驗,我們備有各種渠道收集顧客的意見。提供產品和服務時,除了客戶基本要求外,我們會進一步考慮他們多方面的需要。

新渡輪支持母乳餵哺

2016

新渡輪支持母乳餵哺

新渡輪」於2016年6月增設了首個哺乳室,開創了香港公共交通工具的先河。全新的哺乳室設於主要來往中環及長洲的新光號三層渡輪上,面積約為4.6平方米,配備冷氣、梳化、更換尿片軟墊、洗滌槽、乾手機及緊急服務鈴等設施。如需要使用哺乳室,乘客只需於登船前或於渡輪航行期間通知工作人員,便可獲安排使用。新渡輪將於2017年前,在另外三艘三層渡輪上增設哺乳室。

共享無障礙交通服務

2015

共享無障礙交通服務

本集團堅定承諾照顧在身體狀況及語言上有特殊需要的人士,確保廣大乘客能夠使用我們旗下方便可靠的巴士及渡輪服務。本集團同時與殘疾人士組織保持溝通,了解他們的需要,務求能提供更理想的無障礙設施。


我們的目標是於2017年把全線巴士改為低地台型號。此外,新渡輪在2015年開始於所有三層客輪增設輪椅停泊空間,方便使用輪椅的乘客。


本集團旗下巴士已安裝以三語廣播的自動報站系統,顧及視障乘客、海外旅客及本港不同族群的需要。為支援患有聽讀障礙的巴士乘客,巴士車上設有動態顯示屏,因應當時位置清楚顯示餘下巴士站站名,更推出短訊查詢服務,方便他們查詢巴士服務資訊。


新渡輪亦積極推動無障礙服務,旗下流動應用程式屢獲殊榮,兼容Android及iOS操作系統,並具備多項無障礙設計特色,包括合適的色彩對比度、圖像和PDF文件音頻描述,以及更佳的瀏覽功能,方便視障乘客查詢航班時間、票價及其他渡輪服務資訊。

快 • 智之旅

2014

快 • 智之旅

與世界各地一樣,香港人追求生活便利。為協助乘客方便快捷地計劃行程,我們推出了巴士和渡輪服務流動應用程式。


新巴及城巴流動應用程式於2011年面世,並且定期更新。於2014年,此程式新增「Next Bus實時抵站時間查詢」功能,乘客可於近300個巴士站掌握城巴機場快線的實時抵站時間(45分鐘內)。若因道路工程或節日期間的特別安排而導致巴士服務、路線或巴士站地點更改,程式使用者可參閱相關乘客通告。乘客使用流動應用程式可減少在巴士站候車的時間,亦能輕鬆計劃往返機楊的行程。新巴及城巴憑此流動應用程式於香港特區政府主辦的「2013香港資訊及通訊科技獎」中,獲頒「最佳公共服務應用大獎」和「最佳公共服務應用(電子轉化)」金獎。


新渡輪在2014年推出的流動應用程式具備「下一航班」的功能,由用戶登入程式開始自動顯示下一航班開出的時間,並提供航程時間和安全資訊。此流動應用程式也能充當便攜式迷你旅遊指南的功能,旅客可以從中了解梅窩和長洲等地的旅遊熱點,獲取有趣景點的資料。此程式亦可與視障乘客的閱讀輔助器配合使用。在2014年,此流動應用程式憑藉其無障礙設計,在香港特區政府主辦的「無障礙網頁嘉許計劃」中榮獲「流動應用程式」組別銀獎。